Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2008, 10:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring a Jen-air cooktop


I purchased a JenAir ceramic cooktop with downdraft model# JED8430BDB to replace an old Frididare cooktop with coil burners. The old one was wired black to black, red to white and green to ground. The new one has 4 wires - black, white, red and green. I called JenAir directly but the guy wouldn't answer my question. He just said "you need to contact a qualified electrician". I'm certain I'm not the only person trying to save a buck by doing this myself. I also had a question about rotating the downdraft and he wouldn't answer that either. I'm not happy with my 1st and possibly last experience with JenAir. Can anyone help?

gunnydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 10:13 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Wiring a Jen-air cooktop


Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnydon View Post
I purchased a JenAir ceramic cooktop with downdraft model# JED8430BDB to replace an old Frididare cooktop with coil burners. The old one was wired black to black, red to white and green to ground. The new one has 4 wires - black, white, red and green. I called JenAir directly but the guy wouldn't answer my question. He just said "you need to contact a qualified electrician". I'm certain I'm not the only person trying to save a buck by doing this myself. I also had a question about rotating the downdraft and he wouldn't answer that either. I'm not happy with my 1st and possibly last experience with JenAir. Can anyone help?
Do you only have 3 wires from the wall? You need 4 wires for the new stove. You will have to remove the old stove wire if it only has 3 and replace it with one that has 3 wires plus ground.

Jamie

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 10:17 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a Jen-air cooktop


Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnydon View Post
I purchased a JenAir ceramic cooktop with downdraft model# JED8430BDB to replace an old Frididare cooktop with coil burners. The old one was wired black to black, red to white and green to ground. The new one has 4 wires - black, white, red and green. I called JenAir directly but the guy wouldn't answer my question. He just said "you need to contact a qualified electrician". I'm certain I'm not the only person trying to save a buck by doing this myself. I also had a question about rotating the downdraft and he wouldn't answer that either. I'm not happy with my 1st and possibly last experience with JenAir. Can anyone help?
WHY? The guy is only protecting his ass... Its not JenAir's job to tell every Tom, Dick, And HArry how to wire something. I've never had any problems reading the instuction manual and installing a product a customer bought.

Last edited by chris75; 12-18-2008 at 10:19 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 11:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richfield, MN
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a Jen-air cooktop


Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnydon View Post
I purchased a JenAir ceramic cooktop with downdraft model# JED8430BDB to replace an old Frididare cooktop with coil burners. The old one was wired black to black, red to white and green to ground. The new one has 4 wires - black, white, red and green. I called JenAir directly but the guy wouldn't answer my question. He just said "you need to contact a qualified electrician". I'm certain I'm not the only person trying to save a buck by doing this myself. I also had a question about rotating the downdraft and he wouldn't answer that either. I'm not happy with my 1st and possibly last experience with JenAir. Can anyone help?
First it is a liability issue if the tell you how to do it over the phone and do it wrong, and hurt or kill yourself, or burn your house down they don't want to have liability, that's why all over the instruction it will say something to the effect of "TO BE INSTALLED BY QUALIFIED PERSONS ONLY."

Anyway you'll have to have a new 3-wire (+ground) run to your stove, your old stove ran only on 240v your new one needs both 240v and 120v to operate.
Sliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 11:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a Jen-air cooktop


Thanks folks!!! I got the messages loud and clear - I'll call an electrician first thing tomorrow.
gunnydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
wiring gauge for a jennair cooktop pugvader Electrical 12 12-09-2008 02:48 PM
Cooktop wiring code epudimott Electrical 3 07-19-2008 11:01 PM
Wiring a 240v Delonghi cooktop cape45 Electrical 12 11-08-2007 02:38 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.