DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Wiring an Itermatic Wall Timer in a 4 way stitch

19K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  7474 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello,
I'm new to DIY chat and could sure sue some help with a 4 way switch problem. I’m having trouble understanding the wiring diagram on how to install and Intermatic ST01 wall timer in a 4 Way switch set up.
I read KBSparky's excellent instructions given to aitutki98 on how to wire the ST01 wall timer to a 3 way switch.
My problem is I have 4 Way switch and I'm not sure how to wire the 3 switches so the timer will work.
I have added some pictures of all 3 switches. Also included is the wiring diagram from Intermatic for the ST01.
The 3 separate switches control 2 outside lights that turn on and off together.
Can someone please help!

See less See more
#2 ·
Here is how you install it from both 3 way locations

If your installing the timer in the location where you two blacks and a red this is what you do..

If you look at the 3 way switch you will see two brass screws and one black screw. The black screw is your common and the two brass screws are your travlers okay? So this is what you do.

From the timer you will take the black wire and splice it with the black wire that is attached to the black screw on the 3 way switch.

Now splice the other black from the 3 way switch to the blue from the timer

Next splice the red from the 3 way switch to the blue from the timer. Your all set

Okay If your installing from the other location...

Attach the White from the 3 way switch to the black from the timer.

Next splice the red from the 3 way switch to the red from the timer.

Next splice the black from the 3 way switch to the blue from the timer.

Your all set :thumbsup:

#3 · (Edited)
Wiring an Intermatic Wall Timer in a 4 way switch

Thanks for your fast reply.

I’d like to put the timer in place of the switch with the 2 joined Black

wires. I'm not clear on the instructions? You say to "splice the other Black