Wiring Issue: Problem Solving - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2009, 11:45 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Wiring Issue: Problem solving


I am presently trying to wire my detached garage in the backyard. My brother rna conduit out to the garage and wire a single outlet recepticle which worked fine. However since there are two garage doors and since we wanted to add an outlet, switch and light at the back of the garage, we flippe the breaker off and he then ran wiring from the outlet to a Junction box and tied two wires to the line running from the outlet (one going to the back of the garage where an outlet, switch and light would go and another going to the other door - where all we needed was another outlet)

The second garage door outlet is installed on the one line from the thre way split. On the line going to the outlet, switch and light, I put another junction box and split that line to have one go to the outlet and another to a switch and light. Circuit 1 is what it would look like.

When i flip the breaker back on, nothing works, not even the first outlet that worked before we added wiring. I am a novice, but I have been diligently following the method by which the components of this system need to be wiring (i.e. I think the white wires and black wires and ground wires on the outlets, and switches are attached correctly). So this begs the question if there is something wrong with my set up itself. What trouble spots do you people with more experience than me see here. I have been fiddling with this for two weeks now.

Any thoughts
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring Issue: Problem solving-circuit-1.jpg  


skkrman7482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:54 PM   #2
Stubbie's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,341
Rewards Points: 2,652

Tell us exactly how you wired the first outlet that worked before you extended the wiring. It doesn't work now so you have a wiring error at minimum in that receptacle.

You didn't need the junction boxes......
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring Issue: Problem solving-circuit-1.jpg   Wiring Issue: Problem solving-circuit-2.jpg  


" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"


Last edited by Stubbie; 04-04-2009 at 12:41 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 02:59 AM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500

Although somewhat confusing the way you described it check your connections you may find a wire broken off in one of the wirenuts,also a voltmeter is your friend start traceing your circuits
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 06:32 AM   #4
SD515's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,452
Rewards Points: 504

As Ken said, look for a broken wire or loose connection, especially if the receptacles are 'back wired'. Many connection problems can be caused by 'back wiring' (IMO). Attach the wires via the terminal screws.

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote

circuit , design , three-way , troubleshoot , wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical "arcing" problem? morden5b Electrical 17 12-17-2008 06:10 PM
Lennox G21Q issue gotzapped HVAC 2 11-25-2008 02:28 AM
problem with wiring...celing fan/switch anywhofaq General DIY Discussions 1 05-09-2008 02:51 PM
trailer wiring problem dns Automotive Repairs 2 10-09-2007 02:50 PM
Plan for solving basement moisture problem krx Remodeling 1 12-04-2005 07:00 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1