Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2009, 01:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


New kitchen island in San Diego. Made from two 24" base cabinets.

Power comes up from the concrete floor in the bottom rear corner of one cabinet, the duplex power outlet is in the upper front corner of the other cabinet.

Can I just run the romex around the inside rear of the cabinets, stapling or otherwise affixing it as appropriate?

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 01:47 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
New kitchen island in San Diego. Made from two 24" base cabinets.

Power comes up from the concrete floor in the bottom rear corner of one cabinet, the duplex power outlet is in the upper front corner of the other cabinet.

Can I just run the romex around the inside rear of the cabinets, stapling or otherwise affixing it as appropriate?
Well you really shouldn't have romex in the pipe coming out of the floor, as that would be considered a wet location. I would use a change-over to connect to some metal flex and run that.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 01:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


I generally sleeve it in 1/2 Al flex.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 03:40 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


I agree with the previous posts. The answer to your question is NO. Even in the back of a cabinet the romex is subject to physical damage and must be protected (conduit). There shouldn't be conventional romex in conduit under/in that concrete slab either.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 04:03 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
I agree with the previous posts. The answer to your question is NO. Even in the back of a cabinet the romex is subject to physical damage and must be protected (conduit). There shouldn't be conventional romex in conduit under/in that concrete slab either.
Curious as to why you consider NM run along the upper backside (inside) of a kitchen island subject to physical damage. I'm talking about that area above where items are stored, typically 2-3in below the top of the cabinet.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
I generally sleeve it in 1/2 Al flex.
Help me understand the recommendation. I would have a J-box for the NM coming from under the cabinet to enter - and exit with the flex to run to the outlet box. Can the J-box and the outlet box be plastic?

Last edited by vsheetz; 05-11-2009 at 05:24 PM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Curious as to why you consider NM run along the upper backside (inside) of a kitchen island subject to physical damage. I'm talking about that area above where items are stored, typically 2-3in below the top of the cabinet.
Yes, this goes to the core of the question. The NM can even be run behind the drawers - even less chance of damage.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
There shouldn't be conventional romex in conduit under/in that concrete slab either.
I realize there can be differing thoughts as to whether romex in conduit is ok for the run to the island. I posed the question here on the forum some time back about this. It passed inspection, but was commented that some inspectors would like to see differing.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 06:28 PM   #9
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I realize there can be differing thoughts as to whether romex in conduit is ok for the run to the island. I posed the question here on the forum some time back about this. It passed inspection, but was commented that some inspectors would like to see differing.
It is not a question of whether romex can be installed in conduit; it can. There is no difference of thought as to whether the conduit under the slab is a wet location; it is. Romex cannot be installed in conduit outside or underground.

Is it a huge deal in this instance? Probably not. Just throwing the facts out there.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 11:05 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Back to the core question...

How should I run the cable around the inside back of the island - in conduit or not? If in conduit, what is easiest way to accomplish thise for a DIY'er - is there a plastic flex conduit with plastic boxes or what?
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 11:23 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Is the issue that the cable coming out of the floor should be UF instead of NM?
Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 12:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Help me understand the recommendation. I would have a J-box for the NM coming from under the cabinet to enter - and exit with the flex to run to the outlet box. Can the J-box and the outlet box be plastic?
No jboxes, just slide a piece of 1/2" Al flex over the exposed part of the cable. Terminate the flex in the recep box.

We have gotten tagged twice (out of hundreds of installations) for not running UF in the slab out to the islands. They sitll install NM to the islands in new construction here. I feel it is open to interpetation. I forget the wording but it's one of those "define underground" things. Is in the slab underground? In the AB? Where does the ground begin?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:24 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


[quote=220/221;272842]No jboxes, just slide a piece of 1/2" Al flex over the exposed part of the cable. Terminate the flex in the recep box. [quote]

The exposed length of cable does not quite reach to the outlet location - so unfortuantly I have to go to first to a j-box, then to the outlet.

Correct? Or is there a better way?

thx!
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:32 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Put a box onto the end of the conduit wherever it ends coming out of the floor. If up too high, then cut the conduit back closer to the floor. I would use the plastic flex conduit from that j-box to the outlet box. The idea is that you don't want exposed romex in the cabinet.
Burbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:49 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring inside kitchen island?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Curious as to why you consider NM run along the upper backside (inside) of a kitchen island subject to physical damage. I'm talking about that area above where items are stored, typically 2-3in below the top of the cabinet.
I never mentioned what you are describing and neither did posts before mine. However, if it is exposed in a storage cabinet it could be deemed subject to physical damage.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I tell if there is electrical wiring beneath kitchen tiles? Mr T Electrical 8 01-04-2009 04:40 PM
Upgrade inside kitchen cabinets WATSONJ Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 2 01-03-2009 12:22 PM
Kitchen island help Bob Sacamano Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 3 12-16-2008 05:38 PM
Kitchen Wiring Questions Chazbe Electrical 22 04-11-2008 04:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.