Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2010, 10:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wiring info 14/2


Hi
I have a light circuit 15 amp 14gauge(7 cfl lights) ,and am going to link off of it 15ft to garage(is the only wiring close).will be putting 3 plugs,1st -GFI; and 2 cfl lights on the line.I dont plan to use any appliances /compressors,etc. Will have garage door opener1/3 hp ,and may use vaccuum ,or 13 amp saw once in a while,but not often
Do you see any problems with the set up ?

Will i be able to run the 13amp 60 hz (4500rpm no load ) saw,ok ,or small vac,even if lights are all on? I wont use the plugs together at same time even though there are only 3 on entire circuit.
Any info is appreciated.

hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 11:31 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,148
Rewards Points: 512
Default

wiring info 14/2


How far is panel from the garage, 13A is alot to put on a #14 without worrying about voltage drop.

Could you not just run a new circuit out to the garage and have that on its own circuit, preferbly a 20A circuit.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 12:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wiring info 14/2


Agreed - it would be much better if you can run one (or even two, while you are pulling wire) 20a circuits to the garage.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 10:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wiring info 14/2


Its about 200 or 300 ft at least to box.Will i be blowing the fuse everytime i use a jigsaw ,vac,etc-alone? All are lights at 60 cfls and there will be just 3 outlets on circuit.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 10:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring info 14/2


At 300' you will have a voltage drop of ~24 volts
At 200' it will be ~16v

Are the CFL's installed & in use ?
A lot of times they will not light with that great of a drop
Of course with only say 60w of power w/CFLs' the voltage drop is only 1.2-2v
So the CFL's should work OK
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wiring info 14/2


I decided to go a little further and link into the outside "Gfi breaker protected" 20 amp-12/2 as my main feed for the outlets ,and just leave lights on the 15 -as i was going to run anyway.

What is the max outlets on the 20 amp ?
That circuit has 3 outlets already to bathrooms/outside plug.
I dont believe i would need a plug style gfi on any of the line since protected in breaker ,but wondered if it is ever done..
Any info is appreciated
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 10:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring info 14/2


There isn't a max number of outlets
Max load is 20a, 2400 watts

However you can't take a feed off of a bathroom circuit
That is a code violation
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 11:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

wiring info 14/2


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Agreed - it would be much better if you can run one (or even two, while you are pulling wire) 20a circuits to the garage.
What a lot of people (who are not DIYers or PROs) don't realize is that you could, with the same effort install 2 lines (MWBC) instead of one.!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 11:45 PM   #9
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Default

wiring info 14/2


I've been re-doing my house and I am running two 12/2's into the garage, just as an affirmation of what the other posters have said. I'm a newbie at electrical work also.
brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 11:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wiring info 14/2


I used a different nondedicated line ,20 amp-not many outlets ,not gfi linked ...-yet.
I will run 3 outlets off it transferring 1 of them..5 on all ,Gfi 1st, will be ok for what i will be using it for.
Thanks for the info
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 09:06 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring info 14/2


If you want (2) circuits out there you can pull an additional red wire
These 2 circuits become a MWBC - multi-wire branch circuit
Red & black as hots, green ground, white neutral
The hot feed must be on opposite bus on the panel
Easiest way is to use a 240v breaker to feed the hots

For a detached structure you can have:
(1) circuit
(2) circuits using a MWBC

OR
Sub panel & many circuits
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 10:28 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wiring info 14/2


I will just go with the 20 amp for all of it -lights also-since it has almost nothing on it anyway and i wont be pulling a lot off it.20 works for me!
Ive run it already too!
Thanks for info.

hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
wiring Samsung MH080FXCA4A/MH052FNCA m_driver HVAC 1 07-06-2008 09:44 PM
wiring info baza Electrical 2 09-08-2007 02:55 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.