Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2010, 11:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

wiring help


Hey guys Please check the bottom for my crude drawing and maybe someone can help me out with what I am trying to do.

Cheers
Tommy


Last edited by teamcanada1; 02-17-2010 at 08:27 PM. Reason: didnt want to create a new thread
teamcanada1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 11:32 AM   #2
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Default

wiring help


MSPaint for me.

Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:34 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,345
Default

wiring help


Paint also for me because I can't find anything else free that works for me.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 05:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

wiring help


I use paint too...simple & it works

I used to use Visio at the house
But I would end up doing a screen print & pasting it into Paint to post on sites
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 07:18 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Default

wiring help


okay hope this works, and feel free to make fun of my artwork.

Basically the main room has 10 pot lights , and there are two additional lights on their own. i have no access to run more wire so I'm hoping I can make things work.

The blue boxes control the 10 main lights. I want to use one 3 way dimmer and one regular 3 way switch to control them. should be no problem there right?. It's the two lights on their own that I am stumped on. Is it possible to have them on a dimmer as well? with the way things are wired?

I hope someone can understand.

or if you need more information let me know.

Cheers
Tommy
Attached Thumbnails
wiring help-wiring.jpg  
teamcanada1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:32 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,345
Default

wiring help


You can't do it with the cables you have unless you also want the 2 separate lights controlled by the three ways. You only have switched power at the double switch box.
You can make it work if you bring the power feed into the double switch box instead of the top left three way.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 12:00 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Default

wiring help


are there any other options feasible with the way I have it? Perhaps only being able to turn the two separate lights in the tv room on and off? There is a plug below the switch I can maybe snake some wire up from.

Thanks

Tommy
teamcanada1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 08:58 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,345
Default

wiring help


The way you have it now you can control the two lights separate from the other lights but the other lights must be on for the two lights to operate. The 3 ways act as a master switch for the two lights.
You can pull power from the receptacle below for the two lights if you wish. If it is a different circuit be sure to keep the neutral separate from the other circuit but tie all the grounds together.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 02-19-2010 at 02:25 PM. Reason: spelling
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 10:43 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Default

wiring help


okay thanks for the help. Thats kinda what I had figured. I think I will try and pull power from below as it is on a separate circuit.

Cheers
Tommy
teamcanada1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 10:36 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 19
Default

wiring help


for anyone following this thread and to joed thanks for the advice. I was able to successfully fish a new 14/2 run from the closest plug. Everything is working as it should now.

Cheers
Tommy

teamcanada1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.