Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-16-2011, 09:14 PM   #1

Share |

wiring a groups of lights in a circuit

Basement finishing project here. Will have a dedicated 15AMP for a set of can lights: 4(home theatre section), 2 (middle/bar section), 5(play area section). How would I wire from panel if I wanted to control each section with a different light switch with the play area section controlled by a 2-way. Will I definitely need a 14-3 wire? I presently only have pre-wired only with 14-2 romex but I can still change things. Would appreciate very detailed answer please. That is, how do I connect the actual light switch itself in each section of lights. As you can see, I'm a newbie.

legende is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:19 PM   #2

I'll assume you want to control each set of lights, not each light. If nothing is in place, it won't be that difficult. Can you create a drawing which shows what you want to do and where you want the switches?

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:47 PM   #3

See 2 videos for a start:

diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:50 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
I'll assume you want to control each set of lights, not each light. If nothing is in place, it won't be that difficult. Can you create a drawing which shows what you want to do and where you want the switches?

Yes, I want to control each set of lights separately for each "section". Here is a diagram - I may have leftover circuits from pre-existing lights but the ones in orange color are the ones I'm working on. As you can see, there's diagrams for receptacles as well. I hope my attachment is ok. Also, I think my question is also answered on Ending a Circuit?
Attached Thumbnails
wiring a groups of lights in a circuit-basement_for_diy_electrical_question.jpg  
Old 09-16-2011, 10:43 PM   #5