Wiring Ground For Generator Inlet - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 06:12 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 194
Default

Wiring ground for generator inlet


Does it really matter which way that clamp connector is? I know it should be the other way but I can see why he did it that way. Just wanted to know if that is a code violation.

Advertisement

Jason34 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:45 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,050
Rewards Points: 922
Default

Wiring ground for generator inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
The receptacle and it's mounting cover is grounded by the bare ground wire through the chassis of the receptacle itself, thereby grounding the cover and the box when attached.

Can you explain this a little more please? I forgot to ask when you originally posted it. Thanks.
mikegp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 07:53 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,151
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Wiring ground for generator inlet


The receptacle and it's mounting cover is grounded by the bare ground wire through the chassis (yoke; frame; mounting strap) of the receptacle itself, thereby grounding the cover and the box when attached.

When you have a metal box, a separate length (pigtail) attached to the bundle of ground wires inside, or a long enough extension of one of the incoming ground wires, must be attached to the box itself. But if a clip intended for the purpose is squashed between the receptacle chassis and the box then only one of the two, the receptacle or the box, needs a ground wire attached to it.
__________________
(One morning on WRKO Radio) The tub's not clean! Let's remodel the bathroom.
(One afternoon on WRKO Radio) It's time for an oil change. I'm going to trade in the car for next year's model.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-27-2013 at 08:00 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:31 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,050
Rewards Points: 922
Default

Wiring ground for generator inlet


What's confusing is I'm not sure what he means by receptacle. He said it's grounded by the bare ground wire through the receptacle. So he's saying without pigtailing the bare ground coming from the panel going under the screw labeled G on the black part(to me the black part is the receptacle) would ground the cover? Is it touching the metal cover inside the black part somehow?

Advertisement

mikegp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
Ground Needed in this Case? Rich Sutherland Electrical 3 03-18-2011 08:14 PM
Wiring lights in new construction Mi Feller Electrical 38 06-10-2010 11:24 AM
wiring a detached shed for AC power *and* generator backhaul wrooster Electrical 19 05-28-2010 11:59 AM
home grounding problem smoke-wagon Electrical 7 06-25-2009 03:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts