Wiring A GFCI - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 06:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring a GFCI


I have 2 outlets in a laundry on the same dedicated circuit that are within 5' of the utility sink. 12/2 loops from the first to the second. Do I need each to be a GFCI or can I connect the second to the load terminal of the first? I am thinking that they both need to be GFCI because...and I may be wrong on this... if the second was not a GFCI and connected to the load of the first- if it came into contact with water it would not trip the first GFCI.

Advertisement

elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 06:11 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,034
Rewards Points: 2,866
Default

Wiring a GFCI


You can wire both on the LINE side only or use a GFI in the first and use the LOAD terminals to wire a regular duplex receptacle as the second.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 06:13 AM   #3
BIGRED
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 486
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring a GFCI


Incorrect. If the first outlet after your fuse box or breaker box is a properly installed GFCI, all other outlets wired to that GFCI on the load terminals will be GFCI protected as well.
Grampa Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 10:16 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Wiring a GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Bud View Post
Incorrect. If the first outlet after your fuse box or breaker box is a properly installed GFCI, all other outlets wired to that GFCI on the load terminals will be GFCI protected as well.
It can be wired either way.
Use the line side only and put a gfci on both sides of the sink, or wire a gfci to the first spot, and use the load side to protect the next receptacle.

Just like Jim Port said.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 10:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 453
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Wiring a GFCI


I notice that licensed electricians place a sticker on second outlet (and those in line after the primary obvious GFI outlet) that says 'GFI protected outlet' because they look like 'regular' outlets.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Stumper ksqrdks Electrical 2 04-03-2010 07:24 AM
Wiring a Spa and THHN question. skleinsmith Electrical 29 04-02-2010 12:41 PM
Correct wiring of GFCI breaker Giles Electrical 8 02-23-2010 04:12 PM
GFCI between porch receptacles Thurman Electrical 4 08-19-2009 01:40 PM
GFCI intermittent nuisance trips jejm1975 Electrical 43 09-07-2008 10:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts