Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2010, 04:49 PM   #1
Wing
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


Hi, I know this subject has already been discussed, however, I have a different set up with my wiring, which makes me concerned.

First off I have 2 switches located before the outside lights. I would like to put the timer on the first switch. I have 2 black wires coming into the light switch, one at the top left corner and the other and the bottom where it says "common" . Then there is 1 red switch that is at the top right corner of switch. My timer has red, black, white and green wires. I've tried a couple of scenarios but they haven't worked. Also, please be sure to let me know where I put the ground wire since I am not seeing one inside the box. Thanks so much.

Wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 05:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


i have done many many 3 ways and 4 ways, but never with a timer.

Does it say anything on the box about being a 3-way timer? With electricity we never guess or assume anything. Did the timer come with any paperwork.

As for the ground, it depends what type of box it is, if its metal put all your grounds to a wirenut with a tail to the box with a green ground screw. if its plastic just run your ground to the green on the timer.

for the timer to work i would think it would at min need a hot and a netral, so theres your black and white, your red is probably supposed to go to your load. So red would go to the wire going to the light.

so it doesnt sound like a 3way setup to me. i could be wrong
just my 2 cents

if you want the light to only work from one of the switch boxes and using the timer you can use that one, let me know if thats what you were looking for and i could try and explain it to you.

longbeach1125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:26 AM   #3
Wing
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


Thanks for responding Longbeach. As I was looking around on the net to give you a link to look at the instructions for the timer I have, I found another website regarding my same question, same product. Apparently since there are several white wires in the back of the electrical box, the timer is not the right one for my set up. Thank you for trying to help.

Guess I'll be making a trip back to Home Depot today!
Wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:31 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


The timer is not for threeway setup or it would have one more wire. It is only a single pole timer. You need a three way timer.
The other thing you need to check is if there is a neutral wire in the switch box. That timer needs a neutral. Since there is not a white wire attached to your switch I suspect you might have the neutral in this case.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 09:23 AM   #5
Wing
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


Thank you so much for the help.
Wing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 09:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


I need help with the install. Freaking me out with all the wires. Use to just a red and a black wire. I have a sktech of the wiring layout. Going to leave wires out until I receive help In my photobucket: http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...LightSwtch.jpg

Any assistance will be appreciated.
lsjdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 09:54 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,674
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


What are you hooking up?
The timer?

The two black wires tied together are power in and power out.
The lone black wire is the switch leg.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 04-27-2010 at 09:56 PM.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 09:58 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


yes..just the timer

I failed to mention that the timer has white, red, green and black wire. The instructions states to connect the white and red wires to the neutral (assuming the white wired bundled together), black to the hot wire (assuming the one that shocked me) and the green to the ground (the bare wire (assuming it is the ground.) Nada
lsjdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 10:03 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,674
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


If the wires are black, red, white, and green, the it will wire like this.
The white wire connectes to all the whites, the two black wires connect to the black on the timer, and the red connects to the lone black, switch leg.
Green goes to bare grounds.

Are you sure about the red wire connecting to the neutral.
If you connect it like that, nothing will work because there is not a load wire.
Do you have a number to look up online.

ALSO, Turn off the breaker!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 04-27-2010 at 10:08 PM.
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 10:04 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


additionally, the bare ground wire...should I just put a cap on the end to secure it? I just have it twisted by hand onto the wire. Or do you suggest i contact an electricaian before my house burns down? thanks for te help

I guess I live dangerously. The model is 15086. Here it is: http://www.jascoproducts.com/support...Manual-eng.pdf
lsjdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 10:11 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,674
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


Wire it like I told you.
The red and neutral do not get connected together.
The diagram shows the light inline as a load.
Red to the light
All whites connected.
The 2 blacks connected to the timer black, and the green to the ground.
Use a wirenut on all connections!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 10:14 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


Hot diggity dang. Your instructions worked!!! I will secure with electrical tape. No fire should come out of this right? This is wonderful. Thanks so much for your help. I have two others i am doing this week. Hopefully your instructions will get me through this. Thanks man!!!
lsjdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 10:16 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,674
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


What is the tape for?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 10:22 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


I use to always wrapped the wire and nut with electrical tape...seems more secure. I am such a chicken. In Claifornia and wierd thoughts of an earthquake shaking loose the connections LOL.
lsjdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 07:41 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,856
Default

Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch.


Yes the grounds need a cap (or something called a crimp ring) even if they are twisted together a lot.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-way switch wiring problem drewhart Electrical 12 12-14-2009 09:08 AM
Changing switch for lights in basement, confused on current wiring. RyanD Electrical 2 05-14-2009 08:37 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 08:00 PM
wiring a dedicated switch to a outlet Michel Electrical 2 09-18-2008 06:25 PM
New wiring and switch for bathroom exhaust fan looking4help75 Electrical 9 06-27-2008 04:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.