Wiring Ge Light Timer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2012, 07:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring ge light timer


i have double timer switch controlling 4 light circuits. Replacing with GE Sunsmart timer 15312. Existing Timer 1(T1) is currently connected to light 1 & 3 - Black from light1 goes to one pole of existing timer and Black from light 3 goes to second pole on T1. Whites are nutted together. Connected black from new timer1 (NT1) to black from L1 and Blue from NT1 to black from L2. Connected white from NT1 to nutted whites from L1 & L2. All OK. BUT New Timer 2 what to do?. Existing timer2 has Red & White from L2 to one pole and Red & white from L4 to other pole. Blacks from L2 and L4 are nutted together. Thanks!

Advertisement

ngheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:00 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring ge light timer


Not sure what you mean by a double timer switch, unless you have a separate timer and separate switch in same box.
Are the timer and switch both single-pole?
Are you installing two new timers?
Copy following link for illustrations showing wiring GE 15312 timer:
http://waterheatertimer.org/How-to-w...312-timer.html

Key things to remember about GE 15312:
Timer Red wire is capped and not used for single pole operation.
Timer Blue wire goes to light(s)
Timer Black connects to Hot wire from circuit breaker box.
Timer White connects to White neutral wires that are usually covered with wire nut and pushed to back of box, and this will complete power to the timer circuit.

Advertisement

geno_3245 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to geno_3245 For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (10-29-2012)
Old 10-29-2012, 04:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring ge light timer


Replacing 2 timers in same double wall box.

First works OK BUT second controls 2 light circuits where existing wiring is:

Red + white from light 1 to terminal 1 of existing old timer switch
Red + white from light 2 to terminal 2 of existing old timer switch
and 2 x black are nutted together

shall i connect red + white to black on GE and
Red + white to blue on GE

and nutted blacks to white on GE?

Thanks
ngheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:07 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring ge light timer


1) You can connect it and see what happens.
It might blow breaker. Or it might work. Wire colors seems out of code, but that happens. You really can go by wire color all cases.
Reset timer if breaker blows.

2) Otherwise.
Please describe or identify the old timer so 'terminal1' and terminal2' can be identified.
Is this a DP spring-wound timer? Like FD series Intermatic DPDT.
http://waterheatertimer.org/pdf/038_...ith-wiring.pdf

3) Process of elimination:
Going one wire at a time, without more information:

a) Identify Hot wire:
When you connected successful new timer #1, you connected timer-black wire to Hot wire.
Does this same Hot wire feed over to old timer2?
Which wire is Hot to old timer2?

Generally, With new timer #2 you will connect timer-black-wire to same Hot wire that connects to successful new timer #1. Right?

b) Identify Neutral wire.
When you connected successful timer #1, you connected timer-white-wire to neutral wire.
So, With new timer #2 you will connect timer-white-wire to same Neutral wire. Right?
geno_3245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 12:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring ge light timer


1) not tried
2) yes, spring loaded Intermatic

timers1 & 2 are independent - do not share any wiring so ignore timer 1 for the moment.

So tested light circuits with voltmeter: Black from light 1 is live=110v, Black 2 from light 2 is capped with Black 1 but if separate and test, Black 2 is not live (no reading). Red from light 1 is zero, red from light 2 is 110v BUT only when the 2 blacks are capped together thus passing 110v from light 1 to light2 fixture and back out on Red2.

So I could connect Black from light 1 to black of GE and black from light 2 to blue on GE, ignore the reds from light1 + 2 and cap the whites and connect to GE white?

Thanks
ngheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:06 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring ge light timer


I think we got it.

Leave cap on two black wires.

Red-white wires that have power when black wires are capped together: Connect timer black wire to these red-whites.

Connect timer blue wire to other red-whites.

Connect timer white wire to same neutral that other new timer white is connected to.
geno_3245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:13 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring ge light timer


your're a genius - all working - much thanks!

Advertisement

ngheath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light Wiring Question mataguri Electrical 4 11-09-2011 03:15 AM
Wiring a light switch preciouschristy Electrical 10 10-17-2011 02:32 PM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 03:17 AM
light wiring debd Electrical 0 02-24-2010 06:39 PM
bathroom light bar wiring kenny11876 Electrical 6 03-05-2007 07:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts