Wiring A Garden Shed - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2011, 03:39 PM   #16
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

wiring a garden shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Boy, aren't you off on that one. Suggest that you read it yourself, and go back to the original post, that states that this is a single 120vac 20amp circuit.
as usual, you have not a clue what you are talking about. If he puts in sub panel, the underground line becomes a feeder and article 225 applies (regardless of voltage or ampactity of said feeder). As far as 225.39 applies, it is no longer a branch circuit but a feeder. It would fall under (D) All others. 60 amp disconnect is required. Key word being disconnect. Not OCP. To be code compliant with the subpanel, he would need to feed into a 60amp or higher breaker, and then feed his branch circuits with properly sized sized breakers

None of this applies if he doesn't put a sub panel in. It would still be a branch circuit if there is no sub panel. You probably missed the part about the sub panel, since you on the skim the topics

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 04:05 PM   #17
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring a garden shed


If it were me.

Install a 20 amp GFCI circuit in the panel. This will allow the conduit to be a minimum of 12", which is what you have.

Pull out the NM. Replace with 12 Gauge THWN (3- Hot, Neutral, Ground) all the way to your panel or tap in point in 3/4" conduit.

Bring it into the shed, and install a 20 amp commercial grade toggle switch for a disconnect before running it to anything. Then, wire to your outlets, and whatever else.

You can never use a 15 amp wire on a 20 amp circuit. If it overloads, the breaker will not trip, and you then have an instant bonfire.
seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:38 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

wiring a garden shed


Jimmy, skim topics nope. As for the feeder, again 60 amps is over kill, especially since this is a 120vac circuit, with #12 being used. He is not running a motor for a a/c or a welder, and most likely would never be inspected in the light of day. So in reality, he can get away with a 20 amp protecting it, with gfci outlets. He is doing nothing other than placing an outlet out in the shed. It is the same, if you were to put a couple outlets out in the yard to allow you to hook up a weed wacker or such.

And I do find it funny coming from the person who could not figure out why his water heater was using up all his electricity.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 06:04 PM   #19
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

wiring a garden shed


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Jimmy, skim topics nope. As for the feeder, again 60 amps is over kill, especially since this is a 120vac circuit, with #12 being used. He is not running a motor for a a/c or a welder, and most likely would never be inspected in the light of day. So in reality, he can get away with a 20 amp protecting it, with gfci outlets. He is doing nothing other than placing an outlet out in the shed. It is the same, if you were to put a couple outlets out in the yard to allow you to hook up a weed wacker or such.

And I do find it funny coming from the person who could not figure out why his water heater was using up all his electricity.
You failed to mention how 230.39d doesn't apply. I didn't write the code, I can only pass the information along. Maybe you should write the nec if you think its so bad




And why are you bringing up my water heater? I made a thread saying my water heater is wasting electricity and it went on for 3 pages of you trying to convince me that my water heater is fine. It turned out I was right all along. How you think that helps your case, I don't know.

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running power to garden shed Tryvidy Electrical 6 07-29-2011 05:13 PM
unsafe wiring to shed? lawsklsux Electrical 7 11-14-2010 01:16 PM
Shed Wiring RalphPeters Electrical 6 05-15-2010 05:15 PM
Shed Wiring Duff. Electrical 28 06-09-2009 11:06 PM
Shed Wiring bcdal Electrical 12 03-26-2008 05:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts