Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2008, 05:20 PM   #31
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,917
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendcolin View Post
It's a 2 phase sub panel.

You can still get copper ground at Home Depot here in upstate NY. I'm us
ing a 5/8" diameter, 8 feet long, galvanized steel rod for ground..
That is a 3 phase panel all day long!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:24 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
That is a 3 phase panel all day long!
Is that a bad thing?
reverendcolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:34 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring a garage


I am getting ready to do this same thing. So I am glad I did a search.

I am adding a 60 amp sub panel off of my 200 amp panel. The question I have is about running the wire. I am running a #6 wire from the main panel to the sub panel. I had planned on running it in PVC conduit to the edge of the house and then going underground to the side of the garage, back in using PVC conduit up into the box. two questions:

1. I read that the depth of the underground conduit needed to be at least 18 inches for PVC. Is this correct? Does it matter?

2. If I am grounded at the main box on the side of the house, do I need to re-ground when I get to the garage? The main box is where I am running the power from.
BenJoeM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:35 PM   #34
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,917
Rewards Points: 2,230
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendcolin View Post
Is that a bad thing?
Not really as long as you realize the limitations you have.
Put the hot wires in the outside lugs, then you have to remember that every 3rd slot will not have power.
You also need to add a ground bar.
Did you get the panel free?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:53 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Not really as long as you realize the limitations you have.
Put the hot wires in the outside lugs, then you have to remember that every 3rd slot will not have power.
You also need to add a ground bar.
Did you get the panel free?
$52. bucks with the breakers. I figured I'd have to add another ground bar. It has a place for it in the box.

That will real cut on the amount of breakers but it should be okay.

I need a 20amp for the oil furnace. I can run one 20a for the outlets and one 15a for the garage door and overhead fan, another 15a for the lights.

I was going to use the box as a 50amp sub instead of 60a. My thinking is the #6 is maxed out at 60Amp and 50 would be right in the right number.

Am I wrong on this?


Last edited by reverendcolin; 11-10-2008 at 09:52 PM. Reason: spelling/ grammer
reverendcolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 01:04 PM
wiring detached garage ugabulldog Electrical 5 07-24-2008 05:13 PM
Enhancing existing wiring to detached garage justinperkins Electrical 46 07-07-2008 08:29 PM
Two Family Duplex - Garage Wiring Question Moonlight24 Electrical 2 06-22-2008 11:31 AM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.