Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2008, 02:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a garage


I am going to run power from my house panel to a sub-panel in my garage and was wondering if anyone knew what the code in Wisconsin was for wire size and if you need to run three or four wires to the new box.Also is it nessecary to put a main breaker in the garage panel or just one in the house panel. There is inch and a half underground conduit already running from the house to the garage.Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance. JEFF

scrayzee21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:13 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring a garage


First, the most important question, is the garage attached or detached?

I'm assuming detached because of the conduit.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a garage


detached
scrayzee21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:22 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by scrayzee21 View Post
detached
You will need to run 4 wires to the garage, 2 hots, 1 neutral, 1 equipment grounding conductor. You will need to install a GES (grounding electrode system at the garage, this usually just consist of driving two ground rods, your neutral and grounds shall be seperate at the garage panel, You also need a disconnect at the garage, a main breaker panel it usually the easiest. You need to size the wire according to the load of the gargage. What did you plan on using the garage for?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 03:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a garage


I will only be using it for small things like drills and stuff. I want to run four lights on the ceiling and probably six outlets on the walls. Also what size wiring is best for lights and receptacles?I also want to hook up two lights in the front outside to work off of a seperate switch then the inside lights. Do I run both the ground and neutral wires from the ground in the house panel to seperate bars in the garage panel?I know I will have to run a ground wire from the ground side of the panel to ground rods I put in the ground.
scrayzee21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 05:39 PM   #6
DIY
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by scrayzee21 View Post
I will only be using it for small things like drills and stuff.
How many people say that, and then run out a year later and buy a welder or something?

I wouldn't even consider less than 100 amps in a garage. It'll cost a bit more for the panel and feed cable, but there's no other down side.
gp_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by scrayzee21 View Post
Do I run both the ground and neutral wires from the ground in the house panel to seperate bars in the garage panel?
Yes, keep them separated.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a garage


Then what size wire from the house panel to the garage sub panel and do I put a 100 amp breaker in the house panel and a 100 amp main in the sub panel?
scrayzee21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:20 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by scrayzee21 View Post
Then what size wire from the house panel to the garage sub panel and do I put a 100 amp breaker in the house panel and a 100 amp main in the sub panel?

I personally would run #2 AL, fed by a 90 amp breaker. biggest bang for your buck.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 12:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I personally would run #2 AL, fed by a 90 amp breaker. biggest bang for your buck.
And you can still use a 100 amp main breaker panel in the garage.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 03:46 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring a garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
And you can still use a 100 amp main breaker panel in the garage.
Yes, that would count as the required disconnect.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 12:04 PM
wiring detached garage ugabulldog Electrical 5 07-24-2008 04:13 PM
Enhancing existing wiring to detached garage justinperkins Electrical 46 07-07-2008 07:29 PM
Two Family Duplex - Garage Wiring Question Moonlight24 Electrical 2 06-22-2008 10:31 AM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.