Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2010, 10:24 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring Garage for 220


OH NO !! An Engineer !!

I've never heard of it
So unless its specific to your area....

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:58 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 581
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring Garage for 220


I kind of thought as much. I will check with the city when I go for a permit, but I don't think it has any special requirement. Thanks.
Klawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 07:31 AM   #48
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

Wiring Garage for 220


An electric water heater is never plugged into a receptacle.
They will always be hard wired.

Don't worry about things that were not installed in your house when it was built.
If it was required then, it would have been installed, otherwise you would not have been able to move in.
If the house was incomplete, then a CO would have never been given.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 12:32 PM   #49
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring Garage for 220


That outlet is not for a water heater. If you are in California, then it is most likely an outlet for an electric car charger.

One of those mandates by your local gov't that costs everyone bucks, but provides little benefit.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 01:07 PM   #50
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Wiring Garage for 220


Quote:
I noticed that his outlet isn't a duplex and if memory serves me it has a neutral slot that looks like a letter "T" with the base of the "T" pointed to the edge of the receptacle. I told him I believe it is a 20A receptacle and he says he probed it and it measured 30A.
I suspect you should disregard advice from your neighbor. You can't probe an outlet that does not have a load plugged into it and operating and get a 30 amp measurement. The breaker may say 30 amps on it. What he should have measured was voltage.

Anyway it is irrelevant. to satisfy your curiosity you can identify the receptacle here....

http://www.westernextralite.com/resources.asp?key=69
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 01:50 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 581
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring Garage for 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
An electric water heater is never plugged into a receptacle.
They will always be hard wired.
Good point that I hadn't thought of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
That outlet is not for a water heater. If you are in California, then it is most likely an outlet for an electric car charger.

One of those mandates by your local gov't that costs everyone bucks, but provides little benefit.

You bad - unfortunately not an unfair comment on the way the state wastes taxpayer money.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I suspect you should disregard advice from your neighbor. You can't probe an outlet that does not have a load plugged into it and operating and get a 30 amp measurement. The breaker may say 30 amps on it. What he should have measured was voltage.

Anyway it is irrelevant. to satisfy your curiosity you can identify the receptacle here....

http://www.westernextralite.com/resources.asp?key=69

As for measuring amps w/o a load, I wondered about that but didn't know if some fancy modern equipment couldn't do it. I know my inexpensive little meter cannot.

Not sure, but it is easy enough to find out why he thought it was a 30 A line.

If he has a 30 A breaker isn't his a fire risk? It definitely is a 20 A receptacle. Whether or not the wiring is 12 or 10 who knows until they pop the receptacle out for a look.

Klawman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
determine rating, service panel


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Main-Breaker Box in Detached Garage wstribl Electrical 15 05-11-2013 06:15 PM
wiring 100A to detached garage snowman Electrical 4 11-28-2009 05:53 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
Wiring a Shed and Garage abedj Electrical 1 05-08-2009 12:09 PM
Critique my wiring plan for my garage tigereye Electrical 10 03-24-2009 10:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.