Wiring A French Stove - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2009, 11:58 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring a French stove


I recently purchased a Godin cooking stove and am having a difficult time figuring out how to wire it. I have a #8 range wire coming out of the wall with 220V and 2 hots and a ground (wires are in picture). I have to hook those into that confab (also in the picture) on the back of the stove. I have not seen this before, any ideas.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a French stove-im001246.jpg  

Advertisement

jeff4283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:02 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,612
Rewards Points: 10,016
Blog Entries: 11
Default


It is marked right on the stove the thre on the lefet(blue) are the line. The next two(red) are the neutral. The last one is the ground. Are you trying to connect his in North America or France? I in NA then you need to verfiy that the N terminal is not connect to the ground terminal.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 75
Default


Looks like 120 volt to me. You may need to remove one of the wires from the breaker and identify as a neutral. Black to L, reidentified red to N. Check nameplate of stove for amperage and change breaker if neccessary.

Like previous poster said, if you are in North America this may apply.
unclduey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I am wiring in the US.The neutral does not appear to be attached to the ground as the line and neutrals slid on the bar in back but the ground seem to be firmly attached to the bar thus grounding the appliance. On the line side there seems to be 3 choices for 2 wires. That is what is confusing me. Being this is the old style range wire without a neutral, I just can't attach a neutral. But where do the 2 hot wires go? 1,2 or 3
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a French stove-im001247.jpg  
jeff4283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:02 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Here is the cover I took off to expose the wiring attachment area. It seems to indicate that it is a 230V system but also seems to indicate that 230V is coming in through one conductor. I'm confused.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a French stove-im001248.jpg  
jeff4283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:07 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff4283 View Post
Here is the cover I took off to expose the wiring attachment area. It seems to indicate that it is a 230V system but also seems to indicate that 230V is coming in through one conductor. I'm confused.
In our case, we get 240 without a neutral, as opposed to Europe, where the 240 is line to neutral. In either case, put the black on the L(1,2,3) and the red on the N(4,5), and the bare wire on the ground. It should work fine.

My only concern is that the device is likely not listed by UL or CSA. I don't know, but if your house burns down because of this thing, insurance may not cover it if they investigate deep enough. Just my speculation though...
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 08:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default


Looks like 230 to me.

One leg into the left group (123 which connect to the blues)

One leg to the right group (4,5 which connect to the reds)

Does that terminal block have screw lugs? Please dont tell me that the wiires just push in there


In the US we have 120 and 240 stuff. We would use L1 and L2 (line 1 and line 2) for 240 stuff and L1 and N for 120 stuff.

Apparently things in Europe are all 240 and they refer to one leg as neutral ????

Last edited by 220/221; 04-27-2009 at 09:02 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 09:35 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Looks like 230 to me.

One leg into the left group (123 which connect to the blues)

One leg to the right group (4,5 which connect to the reds)

Does that terminal block have screw lugs? Please dont tell me that the wiires just push in there


In the US we have 120 and 240 stuff. We would use L1 and L2 (line 1 and line 2) for 240 stuff and L1 and N for 120 stuff.

Apparently things in Europe are all 240 and they refer to one leg as neutral ????

Sorry to step in this late.,

However the termail block do have setscrew lugs below the photo you can not able see it from the photo angle.,

As far for European voltage C'est { it is } 230-240 volt line to netural format and for line to line voltage it is 400-415 volts

Now for the OP you will have to concat the manufacter to verify to work with North America system due the North America 240 volts are line to line voltage format.

I will just ring it out the netural side to the grounding side to make sure it is not hook up otherwise you will have issue it will arise.

{ Look at the nameplate they are designed to work both single and triphase supply so I don't think you will have issue but verify with manufacter to make sure . }

Merci,Marc

Yeah In case you wondering where I am .,, I am still in Paris France
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 09:37 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


HOT to "neutral" in Europe is typically 220-240 Volts. Connect line one to all terminals 1-2-3

Connect the other line to terminals 4-5

Ground is ground in both cases.

Should work fine.

Edit to add: Looks like Pierre beat me to the post.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 09:51 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 2,487
Rewards Points: 2,350
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post

Now for the OP you will have to concat the manufacter to verify to work with North America system due the North America 240 volts are line to line voltage format.
Why would that be an issue? Equipment doesn't know the difference between line-to-line or line-to-neutral. Equipment only knows if potential is present or not.

As long as the ground and N aren't tied together internally, the thing should be fine.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 09:58 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Why would that be an issue? Equipment doesn't know the difference between line-to-line or line-to-neutral. Equipment only knows if potential is present or not.

As long as the ground and N aren't tied together internally, the thing should be fine.

Most of the equiments don't know the diffrence there however some manufacter may deny the warranty on this situation which I ran into more than once when someone bring American equiment over here and not conferaged to European system.

Most case useally not much of issue with this.

{ our French code the stove is not on the RCD circuits at all per CEF (Codes électriques français) regulations}

Merci,Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a counter top stove Johnny Reb Electrical 5 09-04-2008 01:11 PM
Wiring stove outlet in old house electric-pete Electrical 23 07-06-2008 03:02 PM
Stove top wiring teh3515 Electrical 2 04-03-2008 03:47 PM
New stove wiring black,red,white where. 2pyrs Electrical 2 12-18-2005 11:13 AM
Stove wiring? OSt8Pokes Electrical 2 03-01-2005 05:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1