Wiring A Flat Screen On A Wall - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2009, 07:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


I was installing a 32" LCD TV on my bedroom wall. House is old, but has 200 amp service with circuit breakers. Circuit breaker for bedroom also handles entire upstairs including small bathroom, bedroom, and master bedroom. One 5k btu A/C unit in Master Bedroom, otherwise just clock radios and lights upstairs - besides this TV.

TV worked when I initially hooked up to cable and power. Then I tried to install a wooden piece of molding using small finish nails (to hide the wires that went down to the floor), and behind this was the TV power cord and cable line only.

After I installed this - the circuit breaker tripped, and various changes including plugging the TV in another outlet tripped the breaker.

I found that I had nailed through the cable cord.

Question:
1) do I need to add another outlet for TV only and tie into its own circuit as this draws too much power?

2) do I need to cut off and replace damaged portion of cable that nail went through? Or can I tape cord and it should be fine?

3) did I damage my TV with this?

Advertisement

TStan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 07:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


The TV likely only suffered a bit of signal interference at most. The cable should be cut off and a fresh end installed, hopefully it was a standard $5 coax cable and not a $50 HDMI cord.

If you are changing wiring for the circuit you might want to try fishing a cable inside the wall as well and exit higher up behind the TV, same as for the receptacle.

I would not rewire for the TV alone so much as plan a new circuit which splits off several of the upstairs receptacles to reduce the load.

Advertisement

Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 08:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


It sound like you hit the power cord and yes I would replace that. The cable from your cable provide could be patched with inline connector (not sure if this is the right name for it) but it's just a connector the connects 2 cables together.
hrjrkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


TStan

1st. running a power cord underneath wood molding. Bad idea..

It is never a good idea to had a power cord behind wood molding, What if it had
started a fire. The only thing behind wood molding should be romex cable, or
steel conduit. Please note I am not saying you can hid low volatage cable behind
wood molding. But if you are going to do what you are going to do, then go out and
buy Arc Fault Circuit breaker, replacing the original breaker inside your electrical panel
box. Install the AFCI breaker, THAT way if you hit another live power cable or even
your house electrical wiring the breaker will trip, and this is to prevent an electrical arc
from starting a fire inside your house. PLEASE NOTE: AFCI breaker cannot be used are
three electrical circuits. This is a circuit with two hots sharing one common ground.

I guessing that you didn't hit the HDMI cable. Then, the HDMI cable should be okay.

Why not use plastic wiremold to secure you cables and at he same time
dress then up.

I have alway installed the power outlet so it is behind the flat screen T.V.
And I also installed the HDMI and other HiDef cable behind the T.V.

GOOD LUCK and replace the power cable, don't replair it.

Breaker trip, when to much amperes for the cable rating is exceeded.
Breaker that trip, immediately, usually means a short circuit. This circuit
maybe supply other outlets, that your plug into.


The above represent only my opinions, and do represent others who have posted to this thread.
Always hire an electrician, if State, city, or local law prohibit home owner from doing there own
electrical work.

Last edited by Ranger31; 09-06-2009 at 11:27 AM.
Ranger31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:25 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


I will suggest that you replace the power cord once you do that and get wiremold item that will cover it nice and alot more safer than wood covering what you made.

Now for the circuits IMO I will suggest that you get the circuit split up little more and get the upstair bathroom recepatile on sepreated circuit { this is specifed in NEC }

I know there are few countersunk receptale / TV box that will work with flat tv screen setup.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:31 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


Try this link for recess hockups.

www.arlnew.com

also this other link

www.aifittings.com

Try to get their catalog.

Last edited by Ranger31; 09-06-2009 at 11:34 AM.
Ranger31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 11:33 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


Here a link as Ranger show but I put a direct link so you don't have to look allover for it

http://www.aifittings.com/whnew137.htm


Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 08:01 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a flat screen on a wall


1) what types of piping is safe for wires - pvc? black poly pipe?

2) is it usually neccessary to add a separate outlet to its own circuit for these flat screen tv's?
TStan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 08:32 AM   #9
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

wiring a flat screen on a wall


Wiremold is best for what you are doing. http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...atalogId=10053 Separate circuit Not needed for tv.

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring for wall sconces in bathroom bigburb Electrical 7 05-20-2009 09:23 PM
Removal of interior wall Bobb G Remodeling 4 09-15-2008 02:30 PM
framing conundrum: 2" PVC vent pipe going horizontal through 2x4 studs amakarevic Building & Construction 18 01-19-2008 07:47 PM
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 10:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts