Wiring Ethernet And Speakers In My Home Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-16-2008, 09:59 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Wiring Ethernet and Speakers in my home question

I am a newbie to the whole homeowner world and as my first project I would like wire my home for ethernet and wall speakers. My question is what is the type, brand, etc. of Ethernet Cat 5e cable and speaker wire should I use to run in the walls and through my attic so as to not start a fire or any cable damage during the Florida summers.

Advertisement

seroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 10:37 PM   #2
Union Electrician

Rewards Points: 500

Guys who pull this type of cabling every day will have their own preferences. That said, Cat5e cable performance should be similar brand to brand. You don't need to spend the money on plenum cable (unless you have a plenum ceiling). You should be able to wire it with either LAN cable or failing that, riser cable. As for speakers, I'd say 14 but no bigger than 12.

Advertisement

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2008, 11:36 PM   #3
Res Ipsa Loquitur

Rewards Points: 250

You might also want to consider flexible conduit for low voltage wiring (aka structured wiring) in the event you want or need to upgrade cabling in the future. If your walls are open this could be an option. Who knows what the future holds- you may want to remove the cat5e and place fiber optic in its place. I wish I had done that in my addition rather than have rg6 cable and network cabling fixed in the walls.
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 06:15 AM   #4