Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2006, 09:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

wiring for a dryer


i moved into a new house this weekend and put a new dryer outlet in to match the male end of the cord.

the dryer works, and tumbles, but doesnt get very hot. i was wondering if i didnt wire it correctly, if the dryer would get power, but not get very hot...or would it just not work at all.

thanks!

irish_hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 09:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Default

wiring for a dryer


I'm guessing you are wired correctly. feel the back of the dryer. If that is real hot you may not have an adequate vent or it might be restricted.HS..

K2eoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 08:18 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

wiring for a dryer


You did it backwards. You must match the cord to the wall receptacle, not the other way around.

I suspect you have it miswired and are only getting 120v to the heater.

Can you explain exactly what you have and how it is wired?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 12:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

wiring for a dryer


you are right on pete.....i had one of the hots switched with the neutral (the red switched with the white), so i was only getting 120...i made the switch and it is working great.

thanks for your help!
irish_hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 01:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default

wiring for a dryer


oh...and i didnt replace the outlet to match the plug...there was no outlet, just a pre-wired box. otherwsie, replacing the plug would have been the way i would have gone.
irish_hood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a 220v dryer receptacle pjpjpjpj Electrical 8 06-05-2007 04:08 PM
Problem with ELECTRIC DRYER plugs SpaceCrawler Appliances 6 06-03-2007 10:21 AM
Dryer wiring jasjks Electrical 8 09-11-2006 04:33 PM
Location of 220 and 110 outlets for dryer and washer JAJJ Electrical 2 08-07-2006 09:16 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.