Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2008, 06:35 PM   #1
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 165
Share |
Default

Wiring a Doorbell


I am here hoping that someone can confirm my doorbell wiring job.

I used the below diagram as a reference.



1) I ran 18-2 wire from the front door button to the bell and snipped the line.
2) I then ran from the bell down to the transformer in my basement and snipped the line.
3) I then ran back to the front door button from the transformer.

I now have (2) 18-2 wires at the front door button (essentially 4 wires)

Did I do this correctly??? Something tells me otherwise. I bought a cheap chime from HD and the directions conflict with everything I've found online.

Thanks for your input!

jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 06:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 73
Default

Wiring a Doorbell


Remove the one from the front door to the bell.

You now have one from the front door to the trans. and one from the trans to the bell. Splice your reds at the transformer and connect the whites to the + and - on the secondary side of the transformer.


Last edited by Super33; 05-28-2008 at 06:53 PM.
Super33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Wiring a Doorbell


You can do it either way, most times the wires are run from the transformer to the bell, and from the bell to the button, since its less wiring (typically). one wire from the transformer connects to the "common" on the bell, the other to one of the wires to the button, the other wire from the button goes to the bell. Some door bells have a front door and a rear door option and make different chimes based on which button is pressed.

Running the wire from the transformer to the button and the bell would work essentially in exactly the same way, only consider the bell the transformer and the transformer the bell (in the above description). Your just swapping the location of the splice in the wires.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 11:48 AM   #4
Member
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: jersey shore
Posts: 165
Default

Wiring a Doorbell


Works like a chime... charm

Thanks all
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this wiring diagram work? beezlebub03 Electrical 7 05-04-2008 11:54 PM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.