Wiring Diagram For Dummies Please - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 11:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Hello all,

Can someone sketch me a simplified drawing on how to run #12 wires from a 120 V lighting panel, 20 amp spare breaker to 4-85 watt induction lights.

Do I need a H, N and Ground? Or can I use a black and white?

When I get to first light, where do I terminate and where do I land my black and white wires on the next 3 lights?

I would appreciate any help on this matter....just assume that the lights will stay on all the time. There is an existing photocell that will be used but worried about making lights work....

Thank you!

Advertisement

notredave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:40 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Where are you located, what kind of building is this in, and what do you mean by "induction lights"? The only context I know for the term "induction lamp" is to refer to electrodeless gas discharge lighting like microwave-excited sulfur lamps, which are mostly experimental. I hope that's not what you mean.

Advertisement

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:04 AM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Quote:
Originally Posted by notredave View Post
Hello all,

Can someone sketch me a simplified drawing on how to run #12 wires from a 120 V lighting panel, 20 amp spare breaker to 4-85 watt induction lights.

Thank you!
How can we tell you how to run wires from point A to point B? All we can advise is that you will need a ground of some sort, either with the wire or conduit if you are using it.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:14 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,706
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Can you post pic's of the breaker panel,
and the lights terminals,
so we can see more details ?
Too general a question.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:15 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Wiring diagram for dummies please


This is at a chemical plant. I am going to draw a sketch for an E/I contractor to route 3/4" conduit from lighting panel "a" to the 4 Appleton, 85 watt induction lights. I just need to know how many wires to draw. Start at the spare 20 amp breaker to first light. Then I want to parallel the reamining 3 lights....can someone draw something up for me please?

thank you
notredave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:18 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


????????????

ground wires not shown for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring diagram for dummies please-new-bitmap-image.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
notredave (10-02-2012)
Old 10-02-2012, 09:21 AM   #7
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


A chemical plant wants a total novice to draw up electrical plans? Do they manufacture bovine excrement there?
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JasperST For This Useful Post:
garlicbreath (10-02-2012), gregzoll (10-02-2012)
Old 10-02-2012, 09:33 AM   #8
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


I guess induction lighting is the answer to hard to service areas

http://www.lithonia.com/micro_webs/i.../induction.asp

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:35 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Thank you hammerlane for the sketch and not being a smartass like others....I appretiate it
notredave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to notredave For This Useful Post:
angelatc (10-02-2012)
Old 10-02-2012, 09:47 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Hopefully you are hiring a compentent contractor that would not need such a simple drawing.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:48 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,004
Rewards Points: 2,806
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


I would hope your contractor would know how to route conduit and the number of wires needed.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:49 AM   #12
custom user
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 239
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Quote:
Originally Posted by notredave View Post
Thank you hammerlane for the sketch and not being a smartass like others....I appretiate it
Well, you can consider it smartass but if it was me given the responsibility to perform the task I would learn how to do it instead of asking someone on the internet to do it for me. I'm just not believing that a chemical plant would be in that position.
JasperST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:08 AM   #13
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


I always thought that the simple minded (dummies) were not so easily insulted......guess I was wrong, learn something new every day.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jackofall1 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-02-2012)
Old 10-02-2012, 11:00 AM   #14
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,401
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperST View Post
Well, you can consider it smartass but if it was me given the responsibility to perform the task I would learn how to do it instead of asking someone on the internet to do it for me. I'm just not believing that a chemical plant would be in that position.
I other words, grow op or drug lab.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:31 PM   #15
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,570
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Wiring diagram for dummies please


Quote:
Originally Posted by notredave View Post
This is at a chemical plant. I am going to draw a sketch for an E/I contractor to route 3/4" conduit from lighting panel "a" to the 4 Appleton, 85 watt induction lights. I just need to know how many wires to draw. Start at the spare 20 amp breaker to first light. Then I want to parallel the reamining 3 lights....can someone draw something up for me please?

thank you
You contractor doesn't need a sketch for that. Just show the fixture locations, switch location, and panel location. The contractor will route everything. That's their job. And you don't need to draw the individual conductors, a one-line diagram is standard.

Just exactly what kind of, uh, "chemicals" does this "plant" produce, anyway?

Advertisement

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-02-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it normal to have the furnace control panel wiring, not match the wiring diagram cjbeck71081 HVAC 6 07-18-2012 12:19 PM
Day & Night furnace wiring diagram Paul Dahlin HVAC 9 03-03-2011 10:08 PM
Sprinkler control wiring re-connect (diagram) ScottR Plumbing 4 06-25-2009 09:51 PM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 12:49 PM
Wiring diagram for lights with two switches Ed M Electrical 7 08-10-2008 09:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts