WIring Detached Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2011, 01:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WIring Detached Garage


I am wiring a detached garage with a 100 amp subpanel off my main 200 amp panel, I am running from the main panel 4 - 3 gauge wires. One is green insulated for ground and the other 3 are black identified as white, red and black. My plan was to run all 4 wires in 1 1/2 conduit from main panel to sub panel. I assume the ground I run from the main to the sub panel is sufficient grounding. My question is do I still need to ground the sub panel to a ground rod at the garage? If so do I just ground the can or do I ground to the grounding bar in the panel? I don't think I can sink it 8 feet because of rock. Is this an issue?

I will have a 100 amp breaker in my main panel to support the subpanel.

Thanks in advance

Advertisement

btedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 01:08 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

WIring Detached Garage


You will need a ground rod. You will also have to make sure the neutral bar and ground bar are separate and that there isn't a bonding screw installed in the neutral bar. The ground bar will need to be bonded to the panel case or directly mounted on the case. Check with your inspector and see if he will allow the ground rod to be laid in the trench or driven at an angle.

Advertisement


Last edited by a7ecorsair; 03-17-2011 at 01:10 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 06:50 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WIring Detached Garage


Thanks for the answer. If I sink a ground rod at the garage do I still need to run a ground wire from the 200 amp panel to the 100 amp panel or is the grouding rod sufficeint?

This work is being done in Newfoundland.
btedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:02 AM   #4
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

WIring Detached Garage


You only need a #8 ground wire for 100 amp:

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 12:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

WIring Detached Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by btedford View Post
I am wiring a detached garage with a 100 amp subpanel off my main 200 amp panel, I am running from the main panel 4 - 3 gauge wires. One is green insulated for ground and the other 3 are black identified as white, red and black. My plan was to run all 4 wires in 1 1/2 conduit from main panel to sub panel. I assume the ground I run from the main to the sub panel is sufficient grounding. My question is do I still need to ground the sub panel to a ground rod at the garage? If so do I just ground the can or do I ground to the grounding bar in the panel? I don't think I can sink it 8 feet because of rock. Is this an issue?

I will have a 100 amp breaker in my main panel to support the subpanel.

Thanks in advance
Are you using single wires or a cable? You mention white? Rarely do I see white sold separately at size #3. I am certain its available, but seldom would be used, as #3 can be re-identified.
If you have a cable, post what type of cable you have.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 02:55 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WIring Detached Garage


I'm using 3 gauge 7 strand black insulated for all colours. I already have the ground wire in 3 gauge green insulation.

If I ground to a separate ground rod at the garage do I still need to run a ground from the mainpanel to the subpanel in the garage?
btedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 04:27 PM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

WIring Detached Garage


What is the marking on the actual wire? Is it copper?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:07 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

WIring Detached Garage


The wire is 7 strand copper.
btedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:46 AM   #9
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

WIring Detached Garage


Tha'ts not enough information, what does it say on the wire? THHN? THWN?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:09 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,977
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

WIring Detached Garage


#4 or larger wires may be remarked as neutral or ground.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detached garage subpanel options? jeffiebean Electrical 6 03-15-2011 09:20 PM
Painting Detached Garage Exterior bsmith95610 Painting 3 02-15-2011 07:52 PM
Wiring Detached Garage for 220v welder 8N1949 Electrical 2 03-11-2010 09:47 AM
wiring detached garage dave d Electrical 1 01-11-2009 10:00 AM
detached garage Kapt Electrical 12 01-17-2007 09:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts