Wiring Detached Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 08:51 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 252
Default

wiring detached garage


I am running 20 amps from breaker box in house to detached garage (underground). My house does not have a disconnect (I was told because the breaker box was less than 50 ft from meter) Do I need a disconnect at garage? (about 50 feet from house) also, do I need a seperate grounding rod for garage?..... yes, I pulled a permit on garage so I have to pass inspection

Advertisement

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:24 PM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

wiring detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
I am running 20 amps from breaker box in house to detached garage (underground). Do I need a disconnect at garage? (about 50 feet from house) also, do I need a seperate grounding rod for garage?.....
OK, so you are running a single branch circuit to the garage. You do not have to install a ground rod at the garage, it is grounded through the ground wire in the cable. You will need a disconnect at the garage however. in your case you can use a ordinary light switch. Make sure you install a heavier duty one, rated at no less than 20 amps.
Quote:
My house does not have a disconnect (I was told because the breaker box was less than 50 ft from meter)
This is a totally different issue. Do you have a main breaker in your main panel? Do you have a disconnect installed near your electric meter? You you have a meter / main combo unit?
Quote:
yes, I pulled a permit on garage so I have to pass inspection
Good! you deserve a pat on the back!

Advertisement

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 252
Default

wiring detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post

This is a totally different issue. Do you have a main breaker in your main panel? Do you have a disconnect installed near your electric meter? You you have a meter / main combo unit?

I have a main breaker in panel, I wasn't asking about this in particular, just threw it in for a little "background" If I decide to wire myself, I will call POCO to turn off power first. Thanks
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 11:39 PM   #4
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring detached garage


With a main breaker in the panel (that you can turn off) you shouldn't need to call POCO for a disconnect. You are speaking of adding an additional breaker (or using one that is unused at present) to handle the garage correct? If you are safe and know what you are doing no POCO involvement should be necessary.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 12:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

wiring detached garage


Install one single pole 20 amp breaker in the existing panel and feed the garage with this breaker. You can leave the main breaker on. Just make sure the one you are using is off until you complete the install. And yes you do need a disconnect. Switch is fine as junkcollector said.

Are you sure that one circuit is all you need? If I were doing this job, I would install a small sub panel or a multiwire circuit. You have to trench anyway. Think about any other loads you may need in the future.
Where do you plan to put the required GFCI. Receptacle or breaker. This will determine the trench depth.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 252
Default

wiring detached garage


thanks for the help guys...........All I need is 20 amps, and I have my trench dug out "in my mind" already, the shortest path. 30 ft by hand

Advertisement

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 02:46 PM
Wiring new detached garage/studio WShawn Electrical 4 07-21-2008 07:13 PM
Enhancing existing wiring to detached garage justinperkins Electrical 46 07-07-2008 08:29 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 08:31 AM
detached garage Kapt Electrical 12 01-17-2007 09:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts