Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 09:14 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Share |
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Ahhhh..I see.


I don't connect the NM to the EMT.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:32 PM   #17
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


I might be missing something, but I'm with 220/221 in that I don't see a reason to connect the NM wire to the EMT. Are we talking about a romex clamp-type connector at the end of a run of conduit? There probably is one, but I can't think of any circumstance that would necessitate using that fitting.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 01:42 AM   #18
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
Are we talking about a romex clamp-type connector at the end of a run of conduit? There probably is one, but I can't think of any circumstance that would necessitate using that fitting.
Yes we are, and there is indeed one. It only seems to exist in 1/2 inch though. That is why I'm concerned, it's much easier to put 2x12/2 romex down 3/4 inch than 1/2 inch. People might think they are limited to 1/2 inch.

It was recommended earlier in this thread even:

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww
Use conduit with the proper fittings, you should use emt and emt to romex connectors
220/221 said this and I thought he was referring to the same thing:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221
I would use EMT connectors at the top of the conduit
But apparently he was referring to a normal device connector, with the threads just hanging.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 01:50 AM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Let me add addtional comment related to this.

In unfinshed basement you will require a GFCI protection on receptales in unfinshed basement.

Keep in your mind when it become finshed basement room it either will stay on GFCI or switchover to AFCI depending on the code cycle and what the local requirement will be add to it.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 01:59 AM   #20
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


http://www.acehardwareoutlet.com/(fd...px?SKU=3002912

That reminds me, I'm going to have to order these. They don't have them at my local store, and I'm not paying the price for a GFCI breaker!
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 07:43 AM   #21
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Quote:
Wiring on cylinder block walls
Why is he trying to put wiring on his car engine or is his basement built out of old engine blocks?

A cylinder block

Last edited by joed; 11-14-2008 at 02:05 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 11:23 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Try the "zamac" hammer drive pins. I used to swear bu tapcons, but I have had them loosen on me. A zamac won't come out. I won't fasten anything to concrete or block with anything else.
I use the "nail ins too". They will come out with a heavy hammer and chisel. Of course any device (box/strap) will be destroyed by removing them.

I like the option to remove the screw if needed. I was raised on nail drivers and like them as well.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 11:42 AM   #23
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
I use the "nail ins too". They will come out with a heavy hammer and chisel. Of course any device (box/strap) will be destroyed by removing them.

I like the option to remove the screw if needed. I was raised on nail drivers and like them as well.
If you get the hammer-drives from a home center, like Home Depot, they don't have the option to remove the center pin. The ones I buy from the electrical supply have a phillips head on the center pin, so
they can be backed out. Then a gentle tap will loosen the body, and you remove it with piers.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 03:11 PM   #24
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Why is he trying to put wiring on his car engine or is his basement built out of old engine blocks?

A cylinder block
It took me quite a while to figure out he meant "cinder block" too. I thought there was some kind of strange building material I hadn't heard of.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 04:48 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Quote:
apparently he was referring to a normal device connector, with the threads just hanging.
Correct......except it's a box connector. A device would be a sw or recep. The insulated throat protects the cable from the raw edge of the conduit.

I didn't even notice the cylinder thing
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 04:53 PM   #26
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,981
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Nice picture Joe.... I think metal fasteners and a ramset would be compliant. So long as you didn't install the pistons.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 01:36 PM   #27
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

Wiring on cylinder block walls


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
It took me quite a while to figure out he meant "cinder block" too. I thought there was some kind of strange building material I hadn't heard of.
I figured that was what he meant but couldn't resit the urge to post the picture.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FINISHING BASEMENT WALLS - Cinder Block Walls tmacwith Building & Construction 4 12-06-2012 08:26 AM
Keeping Water out of the Top of Brick Walls o2barockstar Roofing/Siding 4 02-18-2008 02:50 PM
Locate wiring in walls fw2007 Electrical 4 10-02-2007 09:23 AM
Required support for wiring in walls? leonsphinx Electrical 5 02-23-2007 06:25 AM
block walls orenawilliam Building & Construction 2 02-15-2007 12:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.