Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2009, 08:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Wiring Configuration


I have a rewire question...I want to bring hot to box#1 which will power a 3 way switch for a living room split receptacle for a floor lamp. I will have 14/3 going from box #1 to the other side of the living room to box #2 which will have the other 3 way to control a split receptacle. I also have a fan switch in box #2. Can I power the fan switch off 3 way in that same box that is switching the receptacle. After the 2nd 3 way is that where I take 14/2 down to wire the split receptacle? I hope that is not too confusing..or is there and easier way?

diy10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:35 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 21
Default

Wiring Configuration


is there and easier way?


What you need to do is carry 2 cables, 14-3 and 14-2 both with a ground from box #1 to box #2. The 14-2 is power to your other switch for the fan. You can use a 14-3 to the fan and have the red as a spare just in case someone wants to have a seperate switch for the light and fan.

The 14-3 is for the 3 way. You can use the white as a switch leg and connect it to the red going to the outlet if you want a 1/2 switch and half hot, other wise use a 14-2 and connect the black to the white if you want the whole outlet switched. If you decide to split the outlet, break the tab between the 2 brass screws on the hot side only. Hope the picture helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring Configuration-switch.jpg  

patriot1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 08:12 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Default

Wiring Configuration


If the power is going into box #1 then the fan swtich should be in box #1. There will be no hot wire in box #2. There will only be the switched hot for the receptacle. You also won't be able to have a split receptacle with only the 14/3. You can't use two cable because all the wires for the receptacle must be in the same cable.
Bring power into box #2 if you want the fan switch there. Otherwise you need a four wire cable from switch #1 to switch #2.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.