Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2010, 10:41 AM   #1
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


I want to add an emergency shutoff for my boiler at the top of the stairs. There is this old-style shutoff (pic attached) right above the boiler, but I don't like not having one at the top of the stairs. I plan to just wire the switches so that both need to be on for the boiler to get power.

This circuit is a 15A circuit currently. It's an early 90's oil-fired boiler, right next to the panel. Do newer gas boilers (which is what I will be swapping to within the next few years) be ok on a 15A circuit? If not, I'll run 12/2 across my basement to the new shutoff. If a dedicated 15A circuit is fine for a newer boiler, I'll go with 14/2.

Suggestions?
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?-1005101037.jpg  

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 01:08 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


15 amps should be fine, unless you have an exceptional boiler.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:50 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


I just opened up that switch I pictured above, I didn't realize there are fuses in it. It's a little 2-pole 30-amp (?) shutoff...can I just remove it? The circuit is on a single 15A breaker anyway...those fuses could never do anything. I posted some pics below.

I assume I can just wire the boiler directly from the breaker, right? I will just replace that fused switch with a normal 15A switch with the red cover plate, and wire that switch in series with the one at the top of the stairs.

That make sense? I don't see any need for a neutral in the upstairs switchbox....so I plan on just doing it as a switch loop.
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?-1005101438.jpg   Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?-1005101436.jpg  
Attached Images
 
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 02:57 PM   #4
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Instead of a light switch, I would use a "pull out" style disconnect like air conditioners have. They are pretty inexpensive.

Light switches aren't really good for motor loads unless you get one rated for it.

Last edited by Gigs; 10-05-2010 at 03:01 PM.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


My boiler is on a 12g 20a circuit
Its 22 years old
Not sure on what the recirc pump pulls
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 03:37 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


OK...I had to go & check
My recirc pump takes .75a
My oil burner takes 2.4a
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:36 PM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Instead of a light switch, I would use a "pull out" style disconnect like air conditioners have. They are pretty inexpensive.

Light switches aren't really good for motor loads unless you get one rated for it.

Example? Never heard of that before...What light switch WOULD be rated for motor loads? A heavy duty 20A one?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:04 PM   #8
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Example? Never heard of that before...What light switch WOULD be rated for motor loads? A heavy duty 20A one?
Don't worry, standard 15 A switches will be fine for your boiler.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:07 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Every boiler shut-off I have seen is just a light switch
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:12 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post
Don't worry, standard 15 A switches will be fine for your boiler.
I completely agree. IMO a pullout for a 15A/120v boiler circuit is absurd.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:20 PM   #11
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Great, thanks. And I can replace that 30A old fused disconnect with a light switch also, right?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:45 PM   #12
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 986
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I completely agree. IMO a pullout for a 15A/120v boiler circuit is absurd.
agreed. Saying a switch wont work for this is like saying a bath fan needs a pullout disconnect to shut it off
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:37 PM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Ya don't need to go overboard with disconnect switch the standard toggle switch will suit just fine for this useage.

Just make sure if you going to run new switch get red switch cover plate say " boiler disconnect " some case " oil burner disconnect " one of the two but few local codes may stated " Gaz burner disconnect " as well.

Here the photo look like.




Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:43 PM   #14
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,257
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Thanks guys. I already bought the red emergency cover plate, Marc.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 05:22 PM   #15
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Wiring a boiler - 15 or 20 amps?


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Example? Never heard of that before...What light switch WOULD be rated for motor loads? A heavy duty 20A one?
<edited to remove wrong info>

I looked it up and actually it is OK to use a normal light switch for motors under the following conditions:

"A general-use snap switch where the motor full-load current rating is not more than 80 percent of the ampere rating of the switch."

So now I know better.


Last edited by Gigs; 10-06-2010 at 05:36 PM.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cost of boiler & cylinder replacement abaminog Off Topic 9 03-31-2010 08:05 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 03:40 PM
Need Help I Have a BOILER PROBLEM mikerouse1989 Plumbing 7 02-01-2009 06:07 PM
Boiler Troubles *I Need Help Please* mikerouse1989 HVAC 4 02-01-2009 12:59 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.