Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2007, 12:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Wiring a Basement Wet Bar


I'm in the planning stage of putting in a basement bar. It will be a walk behind in an 5' x 11' "alley". At the dead end, I want to install a sink and a dishwasher. Under the bar, I want to install 2 mini refrigerators for various beverages. How many circuits do I need?

(2)Dishwasher. Receptacles/Refrigerators/Lights?
(3)Dishwasher. Receptacles/Refrigerators. Lights?
(4)Dishwasher. Receptacles. Refrigerators. Lights?
(5)Dishwasher. Receptacles. Refrigerator. Refrigerator. Lights?
More?
Is this considered a kitchen? When I say "receptacles", I believe I need (2) GFCI by the sink counter for small appliances. I hope I've provided enough information. Any help is greatly appreciated


Last edited by beer_geek; 02-19-2007 at 01:07 PM. Reason: Clarify type of refrigerators
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 01:00 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,154
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Wiring a Basement Wet Bar


It would be classified as a "Kitchen", due to the fact that we are talking that bars tend to be wet enviroments under the counter. Figure for the Recepticles (including Refrigerator units), that two fridges should be okay on the same circuit, as long as you do not exceed the circuit amps.

Small appliances on a seperate circuit, Lights can pretty much be on another if you have a fear of overloading. Just check the Amps requirement for the refridgerator units that you plan on using, due to if commercial grade, they could end up requiring more then a normal household, and could also end up being required to be hardwired.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 04:03 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a Basement Wet Bar


This would most certainly NOT be considered a kitchen. Why would it???
It is a bar.
There is NO two small appliance circuit rule for bar areas. You should circuit it as needed. There is no minimum as with kitchens.

There are certain rules regarding bar area and GFI protection of receptacles that is different from kitchens. Mainly:
NEC 210.8(A)(7) Laundry, utility, and wet bar sinks where the receptacles are installed within 1.8 m (6 ft) of the outside edge of the sink.
This is ALL 15&20 amp-120v receptacles, not just counter receptacles.

IMO I would use one circuit for the DW, one for the two refers, and another for appliances. Use an existing circuit for the lighting if you do not intend to add much. If there will be 8-10 new recessed lights for instance, add another circuit for lighting.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 06:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a Basement Wet Bar


Thanks for the input. The refrigerators I'm looking at are the Haier HC125FVS. http://www.haieramerica.com/en/product/HC125FVS/specs
I plan on doing 20A circuits for everything.

I'm only putting in a couple of cans and 2 pendant lights over the bar so I expect to use another circuit for the lighting.
beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 08:50 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a Basement Wet Bar


You can easily add those refers on with something else. Look at the running amps. 1.0a each. That is as close to nothing as you can get.

Also, for the lighting you can go with 15 amp circuits. It is MUCH easier to work with in fixtures, switch boxes, etc. Unless of course you don't want to bother getting two kinds of wire.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 09:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Wiring a Basement Wet Bar


The existing lighting is 15A. I have the wire. Since there isn't going to be too much, I should be able to tie the refers into the appliance circuit, right? That'll take down to 2 new circuits for the dishwasher and the receptacles. That would make things much easier.

beer_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring for half bath in basement ELurie Electrical 5 08-06-2011 09:06 PM
Basement wiring hotrod Electrical 17 07-14-2006 07:01 PM
basement elecrtical wiring jscholl411 Electrical 1 05-23-2006 09:55 AM
Wiring Unfinished Basement Renovator Electrical 12 04-25-2006 09:36 AM
wiring a basement ITE Electrical 3 04-13-2005 07:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.