Wiring Basement Lights And I'm Lost - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 03:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


I'm finally getting around to wiring light fixtures in our basement after the flood and what seems simple enough is making my head spin. I want 3 light fixtures, 2 on one switch and one on nother switch, on a single breaker. Does this goofy diagram make any sense? Is this the best way to go about it?
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 04:46 PM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


Here is a ladder diagram
(easier to understand)
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 05:11 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


I can help you but your picture makes it more confuseing. If you could answer these few questions it would make it easier to explain.

Where are you takeing the feed to from the panel, it looks like you have marrets in the middle of nowhere.

Are the two switches together in one box or are they seperated, if they are seperated how far apart they.

How are the lights laid out to where your switches are.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 05:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


Keep it simple. 7 easy steps.

1. Run your 2 wire power cable into the first switch box.

2. Run a 2 wire cable from first switch box to second switch box.

This gives you your black and white, 120V power at both boxes.

3. Run a 2 wire cable from the one switch box to the single light box.

This is your switch leg

4. Run a 2 wire cable from the other switch box to the first light box and from there to the second light box.

This is your second switch leg and jumper to the second light

5. First box, wirenut all whites all together. Wirenut two blacks (power in and out) together with an 8" black pigtail (which will provide power for the switch) Remaining black switch leg goes to the second terminal of the switch.

6. Second box, tie both whites together. Two blacks go to two terminals on the switch.

7. Light boxes. Black to black, white to white.


*All bare grounds wirenut together. All metal boxes get grounded via ground screw/bare ground. All switches in plastic boxes need ground pigtails to effectivly ground the switches.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 08:55 PM   #5
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


I submitted "Basement Lights 1" see pic

You can also wire it up with S! as the Master and S2 controlling L3

This can also be reversed where S2 controls L1 & L2

It depends on what works best for you and whether or not the switches are in separate boxes.

Let us know how you make out.
Attached Images
   
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 10:02 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


Hey Bob do you realize your second drawing would not be ideal. They way you have it switch one will control switch 2, so if S1 is off S2 will not work.

Follow 220/221 that is the easy way i was just curious if there may of been a way to use less wire.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 12:43 AM   #7
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Hey Bob do you realize your second drawing would not be ideal. They way you have it switch one will control switch 2, so if S1 is off S2 will not work..........
It all depends on the location and the physical layout of the lights and the switches. For example if S1 is at the top of the stairs and S2 is in a Basement storage room then Basement 2 ckt would prevent luminaire L3 from accidentally being left on.

I used a similar circuit when I rewired my 1954 Mstr Bath 20 years ago. The original ceiling light was turned on with a single gang toggle that was jammed between the door jamb and the shower door. There was no room to put in a bigger box.

I used the existing box at the door for a switch to control a new set of four ceiling lights and also to power up a new box at the sink that has a dimmer for the new Alinea mirror lighting and for the fan switch. This way the mirror lighting and the Fan are always turned off when leaving the bathroom by turning off the ceiling lights.

The Alinea mirror lighting really needs a dimmer and I don't want to accidentally keep them on. They look nice but are expensive to replace. There are two 20 inchers on each side and two 20 inchers on top of the mirror with a stubby 12 incher in the center.

http://www.aamsco.com/OLD_SITE_2007/...res_Alinea.htm

.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 12:46 AM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,231
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


Use this with 220's description. I didn't show the grounds.
Attached Images
 
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 03:23 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


I thought I'd already thanked you all for the input, but I guess not. I did finally get it all worked out. Wired everything up, crossed my fingers and it worked the first time. Thanks!
qoncept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 03:49 PM   #10
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,301
Rewards Points: 1,054
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


Bob, with all due respect to you wisdom and help on this forum, I will have to agree with "darren" on this one. It appears that you are feeding S2 through S1. IF S1 is OFF then S2 will not have electricity to work anything. UNLESS, you would be using three-way switches, then I can see this working. I'm betting this is what you were meaning to us. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 04:50 PM   #11
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Wiring basement lights and I'm lost


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
I will have to agree with "darren" on this one.
David, I explained my reasoning in post#7
.

Advertisement

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New lights in basement CooperChloe Electrical 11 01-11-2009 12:22 PM
Correcting 40+ years of screwy wiring Badfish740 Electrical 3 12-28-2008 10:19 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 12:07 PM
wiring recessed lights question. SubSailor Electrical 2 02-25-2008 01:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts