Wiring Basement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2009, 07:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Post

wiring basement


Hello Everyone.
I am going wire my rec room, office, washroom and bedroom in the basement. I like to add 7 receptacle in rec-room and office for music and home-theatre. 16 pot lights. receptacle in washroom and bedroom, light in washroom and closet.
I am using 14.2 guage wire and thinking to make following circuits
Circuit 1; include all 7 receptalce in rec-room.
Circuit 2; include 6 pot ligjts in rec-room.
Circuit 3; Include 6 pot lights in office.
Circuuit4;include receptacle and light in washroom, bedroom, light in closet.

Thinking to add 3 more breakers in my panel. I hope i am doing right.
Any suggestion and alternation in plan is welcome and highly appreciated.

Sorry for lengthy question. Wiring is headshaking for me.


Thank-you Ranjodh

Advertisement

raulakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 07:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring basement


Lights can all be on one circuit, 2 switches
Laundry needs a dedicated 20a circuit - no lights
Rec room you might want 2 circuits if you will have a theatre system, computers etc in there
I only run 12g 20a circuits for outlets, vacuums take a lot of power these days
As does a space heater, dehumidifier if one is ever needed

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 08:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 122
Rewards Points: 75
Default

wiring basement


look into your local codes also. in my area i need afci (arc fault) breakers for any room besides kitchen and bath and garage. As i am doing my basement i did each room as a circuit. that way if one blows you dont loose power in the others.
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 09:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

wiring basement


Give the bathroom its own 20 amp. circuit with GFCI.

Also any circuit that has receptacles in an unfinished area (bare walls or floor) in the basement needs GFCI protection.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-30-2009 at 09:31 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 10:13 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

wiring basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Also any circuit that has receptacles in an unfinished area (bare walls or floor) in the basement needs GFCI protection.
Correct me if I am wrong, you may use a single outlet, if it is a dedicated use (i.e. sump pump).
Single outlet that is, not a duplex.
[IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/xtxp007/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.png[/IMG]
Attached Images
 
TJ_in_IL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 10:37 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wiring basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ_in_IL View Post
Correct me if I am wrong, you may use a single outlet, if it is a dedicated use (i.e. sump pump).
Single outlet that is, not a duplex.
[IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/xtxp007/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.png[/IMG]
Depends on what code cycle your area is following... that exception was removed in the 2008 NEC.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 08:42 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

wiring basement


Also depends on the location of the OP. To all users if your new to the form please put your location in your profile, rules in Canada and the USA are different.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 08:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring basement


Yeah....his IP traces back to Canada
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 11:26 AM   #9
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring basement


I was always told to mix receptacles and lighting so as not to wind up with some "heavy load" and "light load" circuits. Also, in a basement with no natural light, if a fixture pops a breaker you don't lose all of the lights.
__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 12:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

wiring basement


Unfortunately I didn't think about mixing the loads on the circuits when I did my basement. Instead I did something like circuit #1 goes into this wall and serves the receptacles in the rooms on both sides (also feeds the switch boxes in the wall), circuit #2 goes into that wall and serves the receptacles in the rooms on both sides, etc.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 06:44 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring basement


Thank-you very much. I am all set

Advertisement

raulakh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Wiring Questions whirly Electrical 8 03-30-2009 01:52 PM
Wiring for new basement, design help jthawkins Electrical 20 03-06-2009 02:23 PM
Advice on basement shop wiring WoodworkerDave Electrical 4 04-05-2008 01:12 PM
Basement wiring Fred Electrical 1 12-30-2003 11:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts