Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 06:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring in Basement


Hi,

I am doing a run of outlets, and I am looking to do the rough run prior to my inspection. Everything is wired except for the home runs to the breaker box. I am wondering if I am able to run the wire under the joists, stapled to the board running along the foundation as in this picture. It's about ten feet and this part of the basement will remain unfinished, and I don't want to put any unnecessary bore holes through the joists.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring in Basement-photo-2.jpg  

brm6685 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Wiring in Basement


Yikes ! No pressure treated sill plate. I wouldn't staple anything to it cuz your eventually gonna have to replace that when it rots. As far as your electrical question I'm sure a qualified electrician will answer that one for ya . Good luck !

CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:45 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Wiring in Basement


Yes, you can staple to the plate. Just so you know, it can be a pain in the ass at times though... if you have a lot of wires I would use stack its and just screw them to the plate.


Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-09-2012 at 07:51 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:48 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Wiring in Basement


Quote:
Originally Posted by CopperClad View Post
Yikes ! No pressure treated sill plate.!
It's not always an issue.... Of course, I wouldn't build with out it.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multiple light switches on existing basement Wiring fdasilva Electrical 8 05-31-2011 09:30 AM
Basement Electrical Wiring Question psqually Electrical 11 05-15-2011 04:18 PM
Advice needed for Basement Wiring hazey313 Electrical 6 10-04-2010 11:02 PM
Basement Wiring Questions whirly Electrical 8 03-30-2009 12:52 PM
Wiring for new basement, design help jthawkins Electrical 20 03-06-2009 01:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.