Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2011, 07:45 AM   #16
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Share |
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Any reason why you are separating lighting to its own circuit for each room? Seems a bit much...

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:45 AM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


If this is for new circuits to bedrooms then AFCI protection would be required. Thing is two-pole AFCI's are almost non-existent right now. Those who offered them don't any more as far as I can tell.
I agree with above. Just do one circuit per rom and use SP breakers.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:13 AM   #18
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


First, you only need a AFCI breaker for new work not existing so the inspector is wrong. Secondly, why would you want to put an AFCI on a MWBC. If there is a fault both circuits would trip.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:02 AM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
First, you only need a AFCI breaker for new work not existing so the inspector is wrong.
I have a feeling you are addressing the OP. That was two years ago.
I was addressing zoko with his added-on question.





Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
Secondly, why would you want to put an AFCI on a MWBC. If there is a fault both circuits would trip.
SO??? I would much rather have the benefit of a MWBC and deal with the extremely rare occurrence of a two-pole breaker tripping.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:12 AM   #20
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Sorry my bad, I need to get new eyeglasses. Also around here a 2P AFCI goes for $100 and is a waste of money. Most mfg have only corrected the SP AFCI which were constantly tripping. The problem was not corrected in the 2P AFCI.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 11:21 AM   #21
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


As far as I have heard both CH (BR series) and SqD (HOM) have both pulled their two-pole AFCI offerings.
Does anyone know if this has changed recently?

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM
Replace a service panel circuit breaker knockout? michigan_homeowner_2008 Electrical 6 05-22-2008 04:01 PM
HELP with Arc Fault Circuit Interruptors! samf Electrical 3 11-24-2006 10:56 AM
Heat Pump compressor trips circuit breaker joejean HVAC 3 08-28-2006 12:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.