Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2009, 02:26 AM   #1
mikebjohnson
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


couple questions i have, 1st I have a 12/3 wiring 2 seperate circuits sharing the same neutral, am i able wire one of the circuits to a arc fault breaker?

2nd: i tried wiring the arc fault breaker, i have pre wired neutral going to the neutral buss bar hooked up, and the breaker will turn on, now when i have to hot wire and the neutral wire going to the outlet hooked up the breaker will not turn on, any suggestions on that?

mikebjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 07:21 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


You MUST use a 2-pole AFCI breaker. If one is not available for your panel then you need to go another route, such as a small sub-panel that will accept them.

Why are you installing this AFCI?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 03:30 PM   #3
mikebjohnson
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


i'm installing the arc fault breaker at my parents because the inspector says it's for code, i can install the breaker with neutral coming off it going wired to the bus bar and it will work, once i touch the load hot or the load neutral it will trip
mikebjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 04:04 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Is it a 2-pole breaker?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 04:16 PM   #5
mikebjohnson
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


it's a single pole breaker, i have one circuit on that and the other circuit wired to a different breaker but sharing the same neutral
mikebjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 04:58 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


As I said previously, this will not work.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 05:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


As Petey said you need a 2 pole AFCI for 12-3
Or run a dedicated run for the AFCI & use 12-2
You can't share the neutral & split between the AFCI breaker & another
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 05:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikebjohnson View Post
couple questions i have, 1st I have a 12/3 wiring 2 seperate circuits sharing the same neutral, am i able wire one of the circuits to a arc fault breaker?

2nd: i tried wiring the arc fault breaker, i have pre wired neutral going to the neutral buss bar hooked up, and the breaker will turn on, now when i have to hot wire and the neutral wire going to the outlet hooked up the breaker will not turn on, any suggestions on that?
First question, no you can not use an AFCI on a circuit with a shared neutral.

Second question- If this is part of the shared neutral circuit it will not work.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 05:36 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


What inspector?
Is this a new house, or a remodel job.
If this is a HI, and the house was built to code, tell him to pound sand.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 05:58 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
First question, no you can not use an AFCI on a circuit with a shared neutral.

Second question- If this is part of the shared neutral circuit it will not work.
How many times does it have to be stated that 2-pole AFCI breakers DO exist and DO work on (shared neutral) MWBC's!?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2009, 05:58 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
If this is a HI, and the house was built to code, tell him to pound sand.
I 1000% agree!

This is a favorite catch for HI's in older homes. They make it sound like a "defect" that there are no AFCI's.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 02:24 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
First question, no you can not use an AFCI on a circuit with a shared neutral.

Second question- If this is part of the shared neutral circuit it will not work.
There is two pole AFCI breaker on market btw they are not cheap but they have them.

And OUI! they will work on MWBC like that.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 10:28 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


I have a similar question. I ran several 12/3 wires from the panel box to individual junction boxes in the attic. Each bedroom has its own 2 circuit junction box, one for lighting, and one for receptacles.

What are my options to installing arc fault breakers?

Can I use a 2 pole arc fault breaker?

Can I install another junction box next to the panel box have the 12/3 wire go into the junction box and come out with (2) 12/2 wires going into the panel with each 12/2 having it's own arc fault?


Thank you in advance..
zoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 10:45 PM   #14
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by zoko View Post
Can I use a 2 pole arc fault breaker?


This is your only option to get afci protection, if you share the neutral at all.
via 12/3,(hot, hot, neutral) vs 2 runs of 12/2(hot, neutral, hot, neutral)
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 08:30 AM   #15
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring a arc fault circuit breaker


What does this circuit feed and what kind of inspector says it is required.
A 2 pole afci will work.
As stated before, if an HI says it is required than he is misinformed.

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 07:09 AM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 03:44 PM
Replace a service panel circuit breaker knockout? michigan_homeowner_2008 Electrical 6 05-22-2008 05:01 PM
HELP with Arc Fault Circuit Interruptors! samf Electrical 3 11-24-2006 11:56 AM
Heat Pump compressor trips circuit breaker joejean HVAC 3 08-28-2006 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.