Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-22-2013, 07:21 AM   #1

Share |

Wiring in air condtioning unit in Turkey

Hi all

I want to first off state that I have zero experience when it comes to all things electrical. All I'm looking for here is just some advice. I'm not going to attempt to do anything myself.

I live in Turkey and we have just had a second air conditioning unit installed in our upstairs living room. The unit is a typical wall mounted AC unit and the motor is placed outside on our balcony. The guys who fit the unit were not able to wire it in (they wired all the pipes etc in though). We're looking for an electrician to wire the unit in properly. Living in Turkey for several years has taught me that there are no rules to pretty much anything here and many electricans/plumbers/builders etc. have little clue about what they're doing and create more problems than they solve. When we do eventually find a competent electrician I just want to make sure he's doing it correctly and not doing the typical short-cut job.

The AC unit we have is a Vestel Bioplus-18 model. I can't see to find the instruction manual online so I've taken a picture of the details printed on the side. The wording on the label reads as follows:

Capacity------------------------ Insurance
Voltage------------------------- Water protection
Current
Power --------------------------- Liquid line / gas line
Power
Refrigerant gas
Gas level/amount
Climate class

We have another unit in the downstairs living room that was fitted when the building was constructed so all wires and pipes are in the wall and the motors placed in a separate area of our building. I've spoken to the building management but they have zero clue about anything as well.