Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 04:08 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Share |
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


In other words, with out any appliance specs, we really cant tell you what wire to pull, but if you have to get it done, then opt for the 8/3 for worse case scenarios...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:18 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,864
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Check with your local building department. The applicable electrical code where you live will determine what you need to do.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:18 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
To do it right? But its a waste of money if his appliance only requires an 8/2...


With that said, if you dont know the required voltage, then spend the extra money on the 8/3 to make sure you have the correct wire.

Here's what was in the install manual for the one I put in, which did have a white wire....


This appliance is manufactured with a white neutral
power supply and a frame connected copper wire.
The frame is grounded by connection of grounding
lead to neutral lead at the termination of the
conduit, if used in USA, in a new branch circuit
installation (1996 NEC), mobile home, recreational
vehicles, where local code do not permit grounding
trough the neutral (white) wire or in Canada,
disconnect the white and green lead from each
other and use ground lead to ground unit in
accordance with local codes, connect neutral lead
to branch circuit-neutral conductor in usual manner
see Figure 5. If your appliance is to be connected
to a 3 wire grounded junction box (US only),
where local code permit connecting the appliance grounding
conductor to the neutral (white) see
Figure 4.
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:19 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
In other words, with out any appliance specs, we really cant tell you what wire to pull, but if you have to get it done, then opt for the 8/3 for worse case scenarios...
Works for me.....

:thum bup:

ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ryan50hrl For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (08-28-2012)
Reply

Tags
cooktop


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stove top and drop in oven Linda J Appliances 1 05-26-2012 03:40 PM
Freestanding range to cooktop + oven combo. Lots of data (kw, wiring, etc) made2last Electrical 12 04-07-2012 12:19 AM
Direct Wiring a stove javajunkie Electrical 9 11-19-2010 06:07 AM
50A 220V breaker split to oven & cooktop seefut Electrical 2 05-04-2010 08:37 PM
Stove wiring? OSt8Pokes Electrical 2 03-01-2005 05:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.