Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Share |
Question

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


the instruction manual i got from the whirlpool site was kindof ambiguous between 3 and 4 wire cable. it included instruction for both. i understand i can't go wrong with 8/3 cable but 8/2 would certainly be cheaper. so my question is:

do most cooktops require 240/120 and two hots, meaning 8/3 cable or is 8/2 OK?

reference: http://www.whirlpoolwaterheaters.com...ds/6510306.pdf

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Both require two hot, it's whether the neutral

and ground are bonded together or not. You should run 4 conductors total to meet current code

ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ryan50hrl For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (08-28-2012)
Old 08-28-2012, 01:19 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,686
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Both require two hot, it's whether the neutral

and ground are bonded together or not. You should run 4 conductors total to meet current code
What are you talking about? The appliance is either 240v, or 240/120v... (The slash rating is what determines you need a neutral)

Unless the appliance needs a neutral connection, (highly doubtful in a cooktop) then a 2 conductor plus ground is all that is required.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-28-2012 at 01:26 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


How is a cooktop different than an electric range that can have 3 or 4 wire hookups

I ask cause the last cooktop I put in had 4 wires.
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:42 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,686
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
How is a cooktop different than an electric range that can have 3 or 4 wire hookups

I ask cause the last cooktop I put in had 4 wires.
I question your comment about bonding the ground and neutral.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Recalling from memory, aren't the neutral and ground on 3 wire connection for this bound together?
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:48 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,686
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Recalling from memory, aren't the neutral and ground on 3 wire connection for this bound together?
Which is against code on a new installation.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Which is why I said to run 4 conductors
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 01:59 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,686
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
Which is why I said to run 4 conductors

So that was a waste of conversation. The whole point of the OP's thread was weather he could run 2 conductors or 3, i've never seen a 4 wire cooktop. so if you have a link for the one you did, it would be cool...

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-28-2012 at 02:02 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

So that was a waste of conversation. The whole point of the OP's thread was weather he could run 2 conductors or 3, i've never seen a 4 wire cooktop. so if you have a link for the one you did, it would be cool...
Dude, check the URL i submitted in the original post. It shows exhibits with both 3 and 4 wires
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

So that was a waste of conversation. The whole point of the OP's thread was weather he could run 2 conductors or 3, i've never seen a 4 wire cooktop. so if you have a link for the one you did, it would be cool...
Let's form the question this way:

is it 8/2 or 8/3 cable that i need?

Thanks
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 03:57 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
Let's form the question this way:

is it 8/2 or 8/3 cable that i need?

Thanks
Dude, the url is for water heaters.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (08-28-2012)
Old 08-28-2012, 04:01 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
Dude, the url is for water heaters.
Oh sorry, i was looking at different PDFs

here we go

http://www.whirlpool.com/digitalasse...ruction_EN.pdf

Last edited by amakarevic; 08-28-2012 at 04:04 PM.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:03 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 202
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
Let's form the question this way:

is it 8/2 or 8/3 cable that i need?

Thanks

8/3 is what i'd use to do it right.
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ryan50hrl For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (08-28-2012)
Old 08-28-2012, 04:06 PM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,686
Default

wiring a 40A cooktop (like a stove minus the oven)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
8/3 is what i'd use to do it right.
To do it right? But its a waste of money if his appliance only requires an 8/2...


With that said, if you dont know the required voltage, then spend the extra money on the 8/3 to make sure you have the correct wire.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cooktop


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stove top and drop in oven Linda J Appliances 1 05-26-2012 03:40 PM
Freestanding range to cooktop + oven combo. Lots of data (kw, wiring, etc) made2last Electrical 12 04-07-2012 12:19 AM
Direct Wiring a stove javajunkie Electrical 9 11-19-2010 06:07 AM
50A 220V breaker split to oven & cooktop seefut Electrical 2 05-04-2010 08:37 PM
Stove wiring? OSt8Pokes Electrical 2 03-01-2005 05:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.