Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-16-2010, 11:36 AM   #1

Share |

Wiring 4 lights to 1 switch...Please help!

Hey guys, first, please see the attachment!

I am attempting to install some new lights in my attic for the first time
and just needed someone to double-check my layout and verify I am wiring
it correctly. I also need some advice on connections. I am a rookie when it comes to electrical work / wiring but I have a pretty good grasp on the basics and I am pretty handy. I still question myself when it comes electrical work that I have never sdone before. I have an older home to, so safety is my main concern. Check out my diagram and let me know what you
think. Thanks for any help.

Here's my punchlist...

- Removing existing fixture and wire 4 new attic lights in parallel

- Controlling switch is a 15amp, single pole

- I am using 14/2 Romex for the new parallel runs

- Power is fed from downstairs circuit to a main JB, by what looks like 2x Romex wires entering the box. Not sure why there is 2...

- Existing light switch is fed from branch off of main JB (mentioned above), and the old light fixture is fed by seperate romex from from same JB.

My plan is to to reuse the existing romex from the old fixture, but I am confused on how to make the connections in the fixture. The new fixcture "C" (from the diagram) is the center of all branches, where the the other two runs from the parallel circuit and the feed from the old fixture meet. How do I make the connection there? Does any black (hot) wires gets joined w/ the white (neutral) for the power return?