Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2013, 04:09 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Share |
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


I love it when the OP never comes back.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 09:41 PM   #17
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,466
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


It depends on what you want it to do.
1. OK
2. You will be able to turn it on from either place. But will need to be off at both locations for it to be off. That is if you turn it on in the garage you can turn it off in the garage but not from the basement. If you turn it on at both switches you have to turn it off at both switches or it won't be off.
3. Best solution(maybe not the cheapest) but you will be able to turn on or off from either location and not care which location turned it on.

May not come back but posting the same question on other sites.

http://handymanwire.com/ubbthreads/u...sor#Post750399
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 05:32 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 137
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


He came back (#10 and #11). I suspect he got his answer, as several good opinions were presented.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 08:08 AM   #19
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


#3 all day long...
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 05:30 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Thanks for all the good feedback. Based on your responses, I've decided to go with option #3, the contactor.

- The distance from the service panel to the compressor is about 15 ft.
- The distance from the compressor to the garage switch is about 50 ft.
- I assume the contactor will be placed next to the compressor in order to minimize the amount of 10g wire.
- The basement is unfinished so it won't be a hassle to run the wires.
- My panel has plenty of room for a 30 amp breaker.

What do you think would be a reasonable price for this job?

Thanks again.
jjscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 05:54 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjscott View Post
Thanks for all the good feedback. Based on your responses, I've decided to go with option #3, the contactor.

- The distance from the service panel to the compressor is about 15 ft.
- The distance from the compressor to the garage switch is about 50 ft.
- I assume the contactor will be placed next to the compressor in order to minimize the amount of 10g wire.
- The basement is unfinished so it won't be a hassle to run the wires.
- My panel has plenty of room for a 30 amp breaker.

What do you think would be a reasonable price for this job?

Thanks again.
To make this job easier, I would just install a pico wireless switch and remote , the switch would energize the coil wirelessly... save you some time and labor of running a remote wired switch somewhere....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (04-06-2013)
Old 04-06-2013, 06:48 PM   #22
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Wireless would be easier. If you go wired, I'd use a 24V contactor and run bell wire to the switches instead of 120V controls. You could use three-way switches, or you could use a pair of pushbuttons at each location, one for start and the other for stop. I think the total parts cost will be somewhere around $200-300, and about a day of labor.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 07:04 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Thanks for the wireless suggestions, but I'd rather stay with a wired solution. What do you think would be a reasonable cost for a wired solution?
jjscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 12:42 PM   #24
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Probably $500-$1000, mostly labor. You could do it yourself for a couple hundred.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 12:44 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjscott View Post
Thanks for the wireless suggestions, but I'd rather stay with a wired solution.
why?.......
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:00 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Because I believe it would be more expensive than running a low voltage wire. The wireless switch is cheap enough, but the receiver is a little too pricey for me.
jjscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:01 PM   #27
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjscott View Post
Because I believe it would be more expensive than running a low voltage wire. The wireless switch is cheap enough, but the receiver is a little too pricey for me.
you can do a wireless setup for 60 dollars... you cant make up your labor under that price... but do what you feel is easier for your situation.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:06 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


What's the part number for the pico wireless receiver? I was poking around on their site after reading your first post and I thought is was $100.
jjscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:09 PM   #29
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,985
Default

Wiring a 230V air compressor


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjscott View Post
What's the part number for the pico wireless receiver? I was poking around on their site after reading your first post and I thought is was $100.
http://www.amazon.com/Lutron-MRF2-6A...ds=lutron+mrf2

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help wiring my thermostat. batalbj1 HVAC 3 03-28-2013 10:30 PM
Compressor terminal post wiring connector came apart - remnant still sticking to post justplumducky HVAC 11 07-06-2011 08:04 PM
Help assembling compressor jfhspike Tools 5 03-27-2011 10:07 AM
Air compressor and framing nailer for DIY ADKstorm Tools 20 11-11-2010 07:38 AM
HVAC compressor contacts wiring???? mflores00 HVAC 1 05-28-2010 09:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.