Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-03-2010, 09:36 PM   #1
Keith

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Wiring 220V Chandelier for 110V

I have a crystal chandelier I purchased 20 years ago when I was stationed in Germany. The chandelier was purchased in Checkoslavakia and was wired for 220V. It has a single insulated wire coming from the fixture which containes three smaller wires (blue, black, and brown). I'm not sure which wire is ground (if any). I had it installed in a previous house 16 years ago and took it down prior to selling the house. I haven't had the chance to re-install it until now and can't remember how it was wired before. I've installed light fixtures and ceiling fans and even assisted a friend with wiring a new construction house once. I have basic knowledge of electrical circuitry. I was going to ohm out the wires to see where they go, but my digital multi meter appears to be on the blink, so I'll have to purchase a new one tomorrow. Anyone ever run across this or have any quick ideas about how to connect this chandelier to 110V?
Attached Thumbnails
Wiring 220V Chandelier for 110V-cimg1983.jpg  

ntxcop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 10:00 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

Get a CONTINUITY TESTER! (Could be a Buzzer, Beeper or a light.) Trace out the lead wires. The BASE (of the sockets) is HOT. Connect to BLACK. The "CUP" of the Socket/s is NEUTRAL. The Third wire (no matter what color) should trace to the "FRAME" of the Chandelier. Connect to GROUND. Hopefully. you're inserting light bulbs powered by 120v. (No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive, Ever!!!!

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 10:39 PM   #3
Keith