Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2009, 09:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

wiring 220 into sub panel


I have replaced a double pole breaker in the main panel that ran a direct 12/2 with ground wire into a 220 volt compressor with a 100 amp breaker that feeds a new sub panel. I put in a double pole breaker in the sub panel and hooked up the two hots to the breaker from the compressor. The sub panel is not bonded neutral to ground. The question is the bare ground wire from the compressor, does it connect to the neutral or the ground bar in the sub panel? Thanks.

danma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

wiring 220 into sub panel


You put a 100A breaker in the main panel to protect a 12 gauge wire? You can use 12/2 to feed a sub panel.


Last edited by jerryh3; 07-28-2009 at 09:15 AM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 09:40 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

wiring 220 into sub panel


I wanted to run 4 new circuits and had no more room in the main panel. I took out a 20 amp 2 pole breaker which connected to an air compressor 220 volt with a 12/2 w/ground. I put in a new 100 amp breaker into the main panel where the 20 amp came out and ran #3 copper into the sub panel along with a #8 ground. This is the main breaker for the sub panel. I am now going to put the 12/2 into the sub panel with a 20 amp 2 pole breaker. I am not sure if the bare ground from the compressor connects to the ground bar or the neutral bar in the new sub panel.
danma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 10:15 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

wiring 220 into sub panel


The bare from the compressor should go to the ground bar. No neutral is needed in a 240V circuit.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 10:28 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

wiring 220 into sub panel


Thanks, really appreciate the help
danma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Sub panel wiring question mntnvew Electrical 13 03-02-2009 11:28 AM
Wiring a sub panel? motorcity11 Electrical 8 10-23-2008 02:02 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.