Wiring For A 220 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2010, 11:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring for a 220


I have a device that is rated for 208-240V wiring (table saw). It has a NEMA 6-15P on the end of the cord. I understand that I put in a 15 AMP double pole breaker in the box, but my question is, can I use a two wire? Take a white wire (put black electrical tape on it) and put it on one side and then take the black and put it on the other side and connect the bare copper wire (obviously) to the green copper connection?

This is for a garage application (a table saw) and I assume it requires a ground fault, I assume that the break found at this link would work (I have a homeline panel)?

Thanks,

marly

Advertisement

marly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 01:18 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Wiring for a 220


yes that would work,although id suggest running anything in a garage other than lights on a minimum 20a circuit with 12 ga wire.

Advertisement

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 01:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Wiring for a 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
yes that would work,although id suggest running anything in a garage other than lights on a minimum 20a circuit with 12 ga wire.
I was thinking of upgrading it to 20a circuit with 10 ga wire because the distance will be close to 75 feet. I think the 10 ga will be a little better for the equipment than 12 ga for voltage loss.

marly
marly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 01:54 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Wiring for a 220


if your running that far id suggest putting a sub panel in the garage and feeding garage circuits from it
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 02:59 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring for a 220


You can easily install a 20 Amp 240 Volt circuit using 12-2 wire. Just re-identify the white wire to another color, to indicate it is an ungrounded circuit conductor.

Since you are using a 240 Volt circuit for this load, using #10 would be a waste of money, IMO. Any voltage drop would be minimal, even with a #14 conductor.

You do not need GFCI protection on 240 Volt circuits. The requirements of section 210.8 of the NEC only apply to 120 Volt receptacles.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 03:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wiring for a 220


If the garage is detached then you can either:

Run one circuit

Run 2 circuits as a MWBC

or run a sub

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 03:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 11:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts