Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 05:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

wiring a 20amp/250 NEMA 6-20R receptical


I have a nema 6-20 20amp./250v receptical that I need to install. From out of the outlet in the wall, there is two hot wires (blk & red), a return (wht), and the ground (bare copper). The receptical that I have only has three screws for the connections, two for the hot and the one for ground. My question is, how or where do you connect the return wire? Thank you for you wisdom. Jim.
jgapiaries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:10 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,246
Default

wiring a 20amp/250 NEMA 6-20R receptical


Quote:
Originally Posted by jgapiaries View Post
I have a nema 6-20 20amp./250v receptical that I need to install. From out of the outlet in the wall, there is two hot wires (blk & red), a return (wht), and the ground (bare copper). The receptical that I have only has three screws for the connections, two for the hot and the one for ground. My question is, how or where do you connect the return wire? Thank you for you wisdom. Jim.
You don't, just cap it off.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 05:17 PM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,215
Default

wiring a 20amp/250 NEMA 6-20R receptical


The recept you have is a 240Vac only outlet. For that application, you would hook up the black & red wires only (and ground). The white neut wire could just be wire nutted for safety. You only need the neut if your device also needs 120Vac.

Some of the experts might chime in...but I think standard now is to use a 4 wire connector. If your device does not use the neutral...that ok...no harm.

What are you wiring up?

I just wired up one of those this past weekend for my 240Vac compressor.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old wiring to new wiring Acworld34 Electrical 3 07-11-2011 10:00 AM
wiring a receptical with 3 wires? mac16m83 Electrical 3 04-11-2011 07:47 AM
Concrobium and knob and tube wiring WillK Electrical 13 02-28-2011 12:17 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.