Wiring 2 Pole GFIC Breaker In Sub-panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2012, 08:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring 2 pole GFIC breaker in sub-panel


Hello,

I have a whirlpool tub and a steam generator that are both 3 wire, 2 hot and a ground, which I believe means they are 240 volt circuits that require 2 pole GFIC breakers installed in a sub-panel. If I understand correctly the 2 hots are wired into the breaker, the ground from the appliance goes the the ground buse bar, the neutral from the breaker is wired to the neutral buse bar and the neutral on the breaker remains empty.

Thank you in advance.

Joe

Advertisement

J_etten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,255
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Wiring 2 pole GFIC breaker in sub-panel


Assuming this is a question, then ,yes, you are correct. The neutral pigtail from the breaker is used to test the circuit when you push the test button

Advertisement

danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
J_etten (08-18-2012)
Old 08-18-2012, 08:29 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wiring 2 pole GFIC breaker in sub-panel


Yes it was suppose to be a question Thank you!
J_etten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2 pole gfi breaker


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Modify a breaker panel cover. rrolleston Electrical 14 03-10-2012 06:59 PM
Can a Square D 4 pole circuit breaker be used as a 2 pole circuit breaker. TifcoJim Electrical 3 08-24-2011 12:59 AM
Fake Double Pole Breaker in Pushmatic johnk88 Electrical 17 03-01-2011 11:37 PM
Bad breaker panel??? drjay9051 Electrical 9 08-25-2010 04:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts