Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2013, 05:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Wiring


i have power coming to the switch with two wire then it goes to an overhead light. I would like to then run the wire from the light to a recp. Is there a way to keep the recp. live when the switch is off for the light

rslove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:04 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,862
Default

Wiring


Moved to Electrical forum.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:25 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,530
Default

Wiring


Not if you only have a 2 wire cable from the switch to the light.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 07:34 PM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,091
Default

Wiring


How many wires are at the light?
The wire running to the switch, are they black and white?
If they are, odds are the power is at the light.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 180
Default

Wiring


If you have a black and white wire attached to the switch, then yes you can run power from the light to your outlet. If you have two blacks on the switch and capped white wires, then you can either pull a three conductor wire from the switch to the light, pull power from the switch box, or just run a new circuit (recommended)
romex1220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:32 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,454
Default

Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by rslove View Post
i have power coming to the switch with two wire then it goes to an overhead light. I would like to then run the wire from the light to a recp. Is there a way to keep the recp. live when the switch is off for the light
No you cannot run a recepticule from a switch loop !
As there is no neutral or ground there.
You must come from the light,
Cause that's were the neutral and hopefully the ground is !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
sublime2 (10-22-2013)
Old 10-23-2013, 12:04 AM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,999
Default

Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
No you cannot run a recepticule from a switch loop !
As there is no neutral or ground there.
You must come from the light,
Cause that's were the neutral and hopefully the ground is !
In the US, grounds are required at switch locations....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:56 AM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
No you cannot run a recepticule from a switch loop !
As there is no neutral or ground there.
You must come from the light,
Cause that's were the neutral and hopefully the ground is !
FROM THE SWITCH location .. OP said power comes to the switch ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 04:35 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,454
Default

Wiring


OK !
If power and neutral goes first to the switch,
Then YES ! you can run power to a recepticule,
But remember you need to have Neutral and hot,
Not just a hot.

So if your sure that a neutral is there, your fine !

Don't forget to ground it too !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 06:01 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by rslove View Post
i have power coming to the switch with two wire then it goes to an overhead light. I would like to then run the wire from the light to a recp. Is there a way to keep the recp. live when the switch is off for the light

if you open up the switch and the are 2 cables 2 whites and 2 blacks .....and the whites are tied together and the remaining 2 blacks go to each screw of the switch then you have the FEED there ....

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 09:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.