Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 07:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring


I have a Light in the pantry and a light in the kitchen. The wires come from the panel to the bottom of the first switch box. The switch/plug combo are the first to wire to. I want the switch to work the pantry but keep the plug part hot at all times. But I also need power for the kitchen light via using a dimmer switch. Do I need a three way dimmer switch to make it work? And how do I wire it? Thanks.

heavychevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

wiring


You do not need a 3 way dimmer. I'm sure Hammer will be along shortly to give you a diagram.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 08:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,597
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You do not need a 3 way dimmer. I'm sure Hammer will be along shortly to give you a diagram.
You left some information out as far as the location of the switches and receptacle.....so Assuming both switches and the receptacle are in the same box:
Attached Thumbnails
wiring-2-switch-2-fans.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 08:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,597
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

wiring


I see you said switch/outlet combo so here is another diagram. Follow wiring diagram for your switch/outlet combo. ALways HOT wire to brass terminal for outlet and to line terminal to switch.(shown as black wires in diagram for switch/outlet combo), load power to light to load terminal of switch(shown in red in diagram), then neutral wire to the silver terminal of the outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
wiring-switch-combo-addtl-switch.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 06-26-2012 at 08:54 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
k_buz (06-26-2012)
Old 06-26-2012, 05:03 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
I see you said switch/outlet combo so here is another diagram. Follow wiring diagram for your switch/outlet combo. ALways HOT wire to brass terminal for outlet and to line terminal to switch.(shown as black wires in diagram for switch/outlet combo), load power to light to load terminal of switch(shown in red in diagram), then neutral wire to the silver terminal of the outlet.
Why not just reverse the red wire and the black wire at the switch/receptacle combo and not break the tab out?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,597
Rewards Points: 2,102
Default

wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Why not just reverse the red wire and the black wire at the switch/receptacle combo and not break the tab out?
Why do it like that?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:58 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Why do it like that?
Why run two pigtails to the switch when only one is required? No need to break the tab out unless two seperate circuits are being used.

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 10:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 10:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.