Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2012, 12:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wiring


i want to wire a plug into an existing outlet

Advertisement

blampkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 12:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wiring


go for it!

Advertisement

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to itsnotrequired For This Useful Post:
HIVOLT (04-20-2012), jbfan (04-20-2012)
Old 04-20-2012, 02:39 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

wiring


Usually we just insert them. It's easier and safer.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 03:20 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,344
Rewards Points: 3,482
Blog Entries: 4
Default

wiring


Plugs just plug into outlets or receptacles. No need to wire them in, even in Canada.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 03:29 PM   #5
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

wiring


In all seriousness we cant exactly tell what you are asking.

Getting picky, "plug" is not really a technical term

"outlet" in technical terms means any place electricuty is used, such as a ficture or a receptacle

A place to plug in cords is an "outlet" but the more precise term is "receptacle" or for extra credit "duplex receptacle"

Is your question one of these:

1. I want to add a receptacle and tap it off a light fixture or switch
2. How do I add a receptacle in a new location off of an existing receptacle

If this is the first wiring you have ever done Im not sure Id do either one but lets take it one step at a time
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 03:49 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

wiring


At least he didn't ask how much it will cost.....

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 10:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 10:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts