Wiring A 12vdc Amplifier To 110v Line? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2017, 10:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


I am building a shop and I purchased an in-wall amplifier to power some speakers. It is 12v DC.

For some inexplicable reason, they expect you to plug a power adapter into the front of it that you would plug into an outlet. However, it also has wires in the back to be hardwired. I want to hardwire it to a 110v line, but I'm not sure what equipment I need. A transformer I assume, but I haven't had a lot of luck looking online. I mostly just find lighting transformers. Are these the same thing?

I don't want to have to plug this in to an outlet somewhere else, which defeats the purpose of an in-wall plate. Is it even possible to wire this thing up to the romex to keep everything in-wall/receptacle box?

Thanks.

Advertisement

Disgustipater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 11:27 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,935
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Disgustipater View Post
I am building a shop and I purchased an in-wall amplifier to power some speakers. It is 12v DC.

For some inexplicable reason, they expect you to plug a power adapter into the front of it that you would plug into an outlet. However, it also has wires in the back to be hardwired. I want to hardwire it to a 110v line, but I'm not sure what equipment I need. A transformer I assume, but I haven't had a lot of luck looking online. I mostly just find lighting transformers. Are these the same thing?

I don't want to have to plug this in to an outlet somewhere else, which defeats the purpose of an in-wall plate. Is it even possible to wire this thing up to the romex to keep everything in-wall/receptacle box?

Thanks.
It does sound silly to have it plug into to front.

Well the transformer would have to be accessible. With all the wiring in the back, I assume that won't be hard to arrange a plug and wall wart. Not sure of the code, but since you can pull out the amp, I'd think it'll be called accessible. Dunno how much space you have though.

Don't forget about air flow for the amp either.

Cheers!

Advertisement

supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 01:14 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 13,456
Rewards Points: 13,712
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


That unit needs a 12VDC input. You can use low voltage cable. You don't need romex. The 12VDC supply could be elsewhere in the house and fed to the amp through the walls along with the speaker wires.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 01-08-2017, 02:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by supers05 View Post
Well the transformer would have to be accessible.
Assuming the transformer was small enough, I could stick the amp and transformer into a 2-gang box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
That unit needs a 12VDC input. You can use low voltage cable. You don't need romex. The 12VDC supply could be elsewhere in the house and fed to the amp through the walls along with the speaker wires.
Where would the supply come from? I don't want it plugged into another outlet.
Disgustipater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 02:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,935
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Disgustipater View Post
Assuming the transformer was small enough, I could stick the amp and transformer into a 2-gang box.


Where would the supply come from? I don't want it plugged into another outlet.
I finally looked at the manual. There's 2 ways of connecting power.

Quote:
Connecting Power: Under normal circumstances, power is connected to the front panel power input via the included AC adapter. Power may be supplised from an alternative 12V DC power source via the rear pigtail RED+ / BLACKS leads (for hard-wired installations).
Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 02:43 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


What would the "alternative 12V DC power source" be?
Disgustipater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 03:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,935
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Disgustipater View Post
What would the "alternative 12V DC power source" be?
Quickly looking, all I've found are wall warts or inline adapters that are way overkill. I think that you're stuck with the wall wart. You might be able to hide it somewhere like in a utility room. Just watch out for the voltage drop, as it's worse for DC, and lower voltages. (and electronics like this will be sensitive to low voltage) IE. Don't make the run too long.

Cheers!
supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 03:08 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


Okay, let's say I give up and use the wall wart. Can I cut the DC plug off the end, attach it to the wires in the back of the amp, and run the wire in the wall two feet down, come out right next to an outlet and plug it in there?
Disgustipater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 03:38 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,935
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Re: Wiring a 12vdc amplifier to 110v line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Disgustipater View Post
Okay, let's say I give up and use the wall wart. Can I cut the DC plug off the end, attach it to the wires in the back of the amp, and run the wire in the wall two feet down, come out right next to an outlet and plug it in there?
That's what I would do.

Cheers!

Advertisement

supers05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrigerator Water line install & Electrical sMcGp Plumbing 7 08-05-2015 03:40 PM
installing refrigerator ice maker line xnera Plumbing 13 07-11-2013 07:11 PM
Gas line for pool heater BillyDIY Plumbing 3 06-10-2011 02:29 PM
Wiring an old 220 line to a new plug Charles.SC Electrical 3 03-28-2011 06:46 PM
wiring 50a 220 line mgarfield Electrical 2 07-27-2008 10:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1