Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2009, 09:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


After having a new loadcenter installed by professionals I found out that my detached garage no longer has power.

I found the wires to the garage where not connected to a breaker, and the wires will not reach to where I can install a breaker in the panel/electrical breaker/loadcenter.

I suspect that using wire nuts to extend the wires inside the panel would not be code. Is this true? As it would be the fastest and easiest solution.

Other ideas, are to lower the outlet box in the garage so I can get an extra 6 inches or so and then hope that the wires are free/loose enough to be able to pull them to get the extra length I need.

Last option is to replace the cables and hope that it will be easy to get the new cable passed without have to crawl under the house and dig up the asphalt between the house and garage.

The loadcenter is from Eaton/Cutler Hammer, are there way to extend the bus/rail so I can add a break lower down so that the existing cables can reach?

Sorry for the long question - thank you for all answers in advance.

houselost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 09:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


You can use wire nuts in the load center to extend the wires
This is acceptable under code

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 09:53 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You can use wire nuts in the load center to extend the wires
This is acceptable under code
+1
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


If soldering or crimp splices
http://www.allproducts.com/manufactu...t_splice-l.jpg
are not forbidden by code I'd do that.
Wirenuts are not always forever.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 10:43 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


If done right,(Twist wires together) Wirenuts Will last forever.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 09:48 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


I would call the professionals back and have them fix it!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 11:09 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I would call the professionals back and have them fix it!
AGREE!!!!!!! They did not complete the job. I would have called them yesterday.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 12:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
If done right,(Twist wires together) Wirenuts Will last forever.
How often are they done right?
Is there a way to tell if they were done right (beside measuring contact impedance)?
I couldn't find any data on wirenut reliability, or the overall reliability/skill of the people installing them. Compared to screw terminal methods, for example.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 06:11 PM   #9
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Are they UL listed?.
Making good, solid solderless electrical splices begins with selecting the right size connectors for the splice. What size connectors you will need depends on the size of the conductors being spliced together and the number of conductors in the splice. I’m not one for reinventing the wheel and the Ideal™ Corporation, a manufacturer of Ideal Wire-Nut® wire connector has made available a connector selection chart that’s approved by the Underwriters Laboratory for UL Listed Wire Combinations. Every DIY electrician needs to download and printout this pdf file for future reference. This is a good time for you to start building your reference library. Like professional electricians you should start a MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheet) reference file at this time too. The MSDS in pdf file format can be downloaded and printed out here.
The most common size splices made by the DIY electrician involve a combination of AWG (American Wire Gage) sizes 14, 12 and 10 copper conductors and Ideal 92® (green), 451® (yellow), 452® (red) and 454® (blue). These numbers are strictly applicable to the Ideal line of wire-nuts but the colors apply to all brands of screw-on wire connectors. The “Greenie” or grounding wire-nut is especially designed to make grounding pigtail splices easier with a hole in the end of the cap.Wire-nuts makes making good solid splices so easy that anyone can learn to do it after a few minutes practice
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 07:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Thanks for the bookmarks.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 07:10 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
You can use wire nuts in the load center to extend the wires
This is acceptable under code

Way to go Scuba that's the ticket.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 07:12 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I would call the professionals back and have them fix it!
Very good point
They should not have left this disconnected
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 08:23 PM   #13
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


I have had situations where I have swapped a panel out and encountered a cable that was not correct for the load and refused to hook it back up. For example, I found a 14-2 NM connected to a 30 A double pole that went right into the dirt to feed a shed, and a piece of speaker wire that fed a doorbell transformer in the attic. Both in the same panel. I informed the customer there was no way that I was going to put power back on either of those circuits unless they were corrected. This particular guy almost got PO'd. He told me that there was nothing wrong with it (because he installed them!), and knew someone who would hook them up. It wasn't me.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 08:40 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
The “Greenie” or grounding wire-nut is especially designed to make grounding pigtail splices easier with a hole in the end of the cap.
My helpers seemed to think they were to be used as "one hitters"
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2009, 08:56 PM   #15
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Cool

wires too short in panel / loadcenter


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
My helpers seemed to think they were to be used as "one hitters"

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 03:37 AM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 03:05 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 12:33 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM
Short Wires sensen Electrical 3 04-01-2005 01:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.