Wires Through Sistered Floor Joist Into Wall? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2012, 10:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

Wires through sistered floor joist into wall?


I have a wall that goes from concrete on one end to open on the other end... basically a single wall that doesn't form a room, just a divider... I need to get power into the wall though, above it when it was framed was sistered floor joists... so the entire 2x4 wall's top is closed off to run straight up...

Can you just drill up and out at an angle and put metal plates on the top plate to protect the cable to get around this? or is that a no no by code?

I can't find any other way to get around it

Advertisement

__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:19 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Wires through sistered floor joist into wall?


I can't see in my mind what you are talking about.
Can you post a pic?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

Wires through sistered floor joist into wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I can't see in my mind what you are talking about.
Can you post a pic?
did a quick drawing, with a wire kinda showing the only path I have

not 100% accurate, the block wall doesnt go above the top plate but its just an idea of how it is
Attached Thumbnails
Wires through sistered floor joist into wall?-untitledjpg.jpg  
__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 03:55 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Wires through sistered floor joist into wall?


Gothca!

Yea, drill at an angle and install nail plates where needed.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
BlueBSH (08-22-2012)
Old 08-22-2012, 03:59 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

Wires through sistered floor joist into wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Gothca!

Yea, drill at an angle and install nail plates where needed.
Awesome, thanks! Wouldn't know how to get around this if that wasn't the answer
__________________
House Information: Build 1996, 1500 sq ft basement, 1500 sq ft 1st floor, 800 sq ft 2nd floor, 560 sq ft unfinished attic space on 2nd floor. Insulation: Attic blown fiberglass, walls R-19, Basement R-19. HVAC: Trane xc95m fully modulating furnace, single zone, Trane XL20i commiunicating AC unit, TCONT900 Communicating thermostat.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace masonry wall - feasibility mwpiper Building & Construction 12 01-13-2012 12:36 AM
how to determine if wall is load bearing Tonglebeak Building & Construction 26 01-21-2010 12:26 AM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 03:55 PM
Creating a hole in the wall to run wires, a good idea? RyanD General DIY Discussions 6 05-19-2009 04:30 PM
Temporary wall support question discojv Building & Construction 7 01-25-2009 08:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts