# Of Wires Through EMT - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2008, 08:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

# of wires through EMT


Back again... any code on amount of wires(ex. 12/2) I can run through any size EMT? thanks

Advertisement

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

# of wires through EMT


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
Back again... any code on amount of wires(ex. 12/2) I can run through any size EMT? thanks
What kind of wire in what size EMT? Are you talking about running romex style cable in EMT?

Jamie

Advertisement

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

# of wires through EMT


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
What kind of wire in what size EMT? Are you talking about running romex style cable in EMT?

Jamie

yes, romex
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 08:34 PM   #4
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

# of wires through EMT


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
yes, romex
Are you just using it as a sleeve down a few feet of exposed wall?

It is allowed, but not necessarily easy to pull very far in EMT.

NEC 334.15c.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 09:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

# of wires through EMT


I would be using it in a pole barn on the front or side of a beam since there are no tradional stud walls, about 5' per run down from ceiling.
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 09:11 PM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

# of wires through EMT


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
I would be using it in a pole barn on the front or side of a beam since there are no tradional stud walls, about 5' per run down from ceiling.
Should be fine and should be fairly easy to put the NM down that short of a run of EMT.

My only concern would be if this is a weather proof location? It's my understanding that you can not use romex in conduit in a wet location, but would have to research it more if this applies.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 09:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

# of wires through EMT


thanks jamie, i am going over best way of wiring in my head, (not working of any blueprints) and am thinking of a way not to have to use EMT but rather run conduit all the way up outside wall, enter w/ romex over top plate, run along beams and down one of the "tradional" walls to switch (disconnect). About 20' worth of wiring inside structure before hiting disconnect switch. Does this sound ok for a disconnect? Also, you have to enter barn, then enter feed room door before accessing switch, ok?...thanks
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 09:33 PM   #8
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

# of wires through EMT


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
thanks jamie, i am going over best way of wiring in my head, (not working of any blueprints) and am thinking of a way not to have to use EMT but rather run conduit all the way up outside wall, enter w/ romex over top plate, run along beams and down one of the "tradional" walls to switch (disconnect). About 20' worth of wiring inside structure before hiting disconnect switch. Does this sound ok for a disconnect? Also, you have to enter barn, then enter feed room door before accessing switch, ok?...thanks
Are you running only 1 circuit to this building in total?

Is the inside of the building finished and waterproof?

In terms of the disconnect the code says:

"(1) Readily Accessible Location. The service disconnect-
ing means shall be installed at a readily accessible location
either outside of a building or structure or inside nearest the
point of entrance of the service conductors."

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 09:44 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

# of wires through EMT


one circuit, as finished and waterproof as a barn can be (enclosed).

maybe I should put disconnect box on exterior wall, and continue out of box with conduit the rest of the way up outside wall.

Last edited by ugabulldog; 12-26-2008 at 10:04 PM.
ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 10:07 PM   #10
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

# of wires through EMT


Quote:
Originally Posted by ugabulldog View Post
one circuit, as finished and waterproof as a barn can be (enclosed).

The code sound a little subjective, I guess... service conductors is the wire or a person? please forgive my ignorance. Either way it sounds subjective. The feed room door is at front of barn immediatley as you enter and disconnect switch would be behind feed room door once closed. maybe I should put disconnect box on exterior wall, and continue out of box with conduit the rest of the way up outside wall? That might look odd with straight conduit pipe coming in to box and elbow joint coming out.
The local inspector is the person that would have to determine what is considered readily accessible or is considered close enough for the disconnect for them to pass it. They are not more specific in the code as far as I can tell.

You would be really safe with a very basic very cheap weather proof external disconnect (they are like $6). You could run the wire into it in the bottom, in a conduit coming from the ground, then drill through the wall and connect into the back of the disconnect box with a pull elbow, and then have the conduit run up the inside wall. Then just sleeve down the wall to the box with EMT as necessary to keep all romex protected.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 10:11 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: georgia
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

# of wires through EMT


Thank you jamie. I tend to over analyze everything, it is a blessing and a curse all at the same time.

Advertisement

ugabulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Heil DC90 - AC Wires keithshank HVAC 1 07-31-2008 09:37 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 03:55 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 10:38 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts