Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2008, 06:33 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

Wires run from upstairs, normal?


I am just curious if it is normal in a residential install for them to run all the wiring up to the 2nd floor, then route it out from there. At the panel, the wires run out of the top of the panel, then all wires (except for in basement wiring) go straight up.

In my basement, the only wiring that is down there is wiring for the basement (plus a couple runs that people added later).

So for example, a outlet on the first floor that is physically located 2 feet above the basement floor appears to have been feed from the panel to the second floor, then dropped back down to the outlet.

I have to trace back a circuit that is feeding the porch and the garage so I can split it up, it is really hard to see what is going on because I can't even see the wires in the basement, it is all buried in finished walls and floors. So I guess I will just keep pulling switches and outlets and disconnecting a wire to see where the beginning of the circuit is. No other way to figure it out is there?

I also wanted to add a outlet to the bathroom, but didn't want to have to add in a new breaker just for one outlet, but instead of just being able to put a junction box on the line that is feeding the bathroom in the basement, the only thing I can do is fish a line down to the basement from a existing outlet box, then fishing back up to where I want the new outlet.

Frustrated,
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 06:44 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Default

Wires run from upstairs, normal?


Yes, typically that is how houses are wired. Home runs are pulled out of the panel to the ceiling of the first floor and everything is wired from overhead and dropped down the walls.

I know at first thought it doesn't make much sense, but it is much easier to wire if you are working on one floor (other than home runs) rather than having to run up and down the basement stairs every time you need to pull a wire up into a receptacle.
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 07:02 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,030
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Wires run from upstairs, normal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by EBFD6 View Post
Yes, typically that is how houses are wired. Home runs are pulled out of the panel to the ceiling of the first floor and everything is wired from overhead and dropped down the walls.

I know at first thought it doesn't make much sense, but it is much easier to wire if you are working on one floor (other than home runs) rather than having to run up and down the basement stairs every time you need to pull a wire up into a receptacle.
In my old house there was a lot of wiring run in the basement between the joists. Maybe that house just had a lot of add on / redo work.

Thanks for the response.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil DC90 - AC Wires keithshank HVAC 1 07-31-2008 08:37 PM
replacing outlet with 3 white/3 black wires gpet573 Electrical 4 06-03-2008 02:55 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
HVAC Upstairs QUESTION Statecowboy HVAC 1 09-15-2007 11:15 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.